Skip to main content
Prevention, wellness, and disease information
- CISMeF-patients: Sites médicaux francophones à destination des patients et de leurs familles |FRENCH|
A directory of French-language sites from Canada, Belgium, and France.
- College of Family Physicians of Canada - Patient Education Program / Collège des médecins de famille du Canada - Programme d'éducation des patients
Factsheets with summaries of common problems in family medicine.
- Portail santé mieux-être |FRENCH| (Government of Quebec)
News on health issues, advice and prevention, assistance measures and programs, and finding resources.
- Healthwise Knowledgebase
Contains comprehensive, current, evidence-based information for consumers, including health topics, medical tests, medications and complementary & alternative medicine.
- Healthy Ontario / Santé Ontario |FRENCH|
This site, from the Ontario Ministry of Health Promotion is a large, bilingual site providing drug and disease as well as health promotion information reviewed by health professionals.
- JAMA Network - for Patients
The Journal of the American Medical Association's patient pages are listed here for convenient browsing and printing.
- Lab Tests Online
For descriptions of medical tests - what they look for, and how they work.
- Clinical Key
After searching for your topic, click on 'Related Patient Information'.
- MEDLINEplus (U.S. National Library of Medicine) |SPANISH|
A directory of disease and drug information from reliable American associations. Includes "Easy-To-Read" links and interactive tutorials for many diseases and conditions.
- Sexualityandu.ca |FRENCH|
A Canadian website for teens, adults, and health professionals about all issues surroudning human sexuality.
- TRIP Database: Turning Research Into Practice - Select "Patient Information" after search
This Welsh site is a search engine retrieving information, particularly evidence-based information, from over 50 sites, including 4,200 patient information leaflets.
This database includes patient information handouts for many topics, some of which are freely accessible.
- Women's Health Matters (Sunnybrook & Women’s College Health Sciences Centre) |FRENCH|
This website contains original information pertaining to women's health as well as a searchable database of quality print, electronic, and multimedia information sources.
Decision tools for patients
Some major websites with disease information
Multicultural health information
Drug information and alternative therapies
- Guide to Less Toxic Products (Environmental Health Association of Nova Scotia)
Lists alternative products for personal care, household cleaning, baby care, and household pest control.
- Household Products Database: Health and Safety Information on Household Products
A searchable database of common household products which lists all ingredients. Can also be searched by chemical ingredient.
- Consumer Guides (Environmental Working Group)
Safety information for a range of consumer products, including beauty products, food, cleaning products, and electronics.
Consumer health information centres
Quality, reliability, and readability of health information
Are these sites misleading?
- McGill users only
- Open access resource
- Free resource
- In-library use (resources only accessible in branch)
- Catalogue record (used when linking to catalogue record)