Skip to main content

MyResearch: Social Sciences: Home

MyResearch Humanities & Social Sciences

Module 1: EndNote Essentials

 

The first session of MyResearch provides an introduction to one citation management software, EndNote, which is free to students, faculty, and staff of McGill University. EndNote can store and organize bibliographic information and research notes and generate footnotes and bibliographies according to various citation styles.

In preparation for the MyResearch session, please visit the Library's EndNote page to download and install the software on your laptop.

The Library also provides McGill access to RefWorks, and a number of free online products exist. To decide which citation management software is right for you, use McGill’s comparison chart.

Module 2: Graduate Research Tool Kit

In this module, we provide an overview of the research process and introduce you to the Library's catalogues and general academic databases which are essential places to begin.  Exercises in class will give you time to practice searching Google Scholar, creating article alerts, locating relevant theses and dissertations. We also review how to connect from off campus to ensure you can work on your research from anywhere.

 

Module 3: Search Strategies and Techniques

Module 3 digs deeper into the research process by investigating some of the core skills and resources necessary to write a search a subject-specific or multidisciplinary database. Learn how to locate known citations and practice with hands-on exercises.  We demonstrate how to analyze a research topic into keywords and then combine these effectively with boolean operators to construct search strategies.

 

Module 4: Getting Your Research Out

The concluding Module 4 provides tips and tricks on how to find (peer-reviewed) conferences and journals. These necessary skills, prepare graduate students for the next steps in their academic and professional careers by providing practical skills for presenting and publishing. In investigating the publishing industry, special reference is made to Open Access and the costs associated with acquiring research, in particular the current publishing model. Finally, the Module ends with resources for finishing one’s dissertation or thesis and turning this work into a published-finished product ready for the next generation to investigate and contribute to studying the humanities.

Academic Integrity

Fair play: A guide to academic integrity (McGill)
Writing centre tutorial sessions

Conferences and poster sessions

University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center: Oral Presentations
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/presentations_oral.html

Choosing a journal for publication

Quantitative method

Web of Science: Journal Impact Factor (click on "Additional Resources" tab and select "Journal Citation Reports")
Scopus: SJR: SCImago Journal Rank and SNIP: Source Normalized Impact per Paper (click on "Analytics" to access the Journal Analyzer)

Qualitative method

Metrics alone can't determine where you publish your research. New efforts are being made to measure an article's impact, not just a journal's. Read this brief primer commissioned by SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition. Who has tweeted your article? Who has blogged about it? What's the relative impact of these "citations" in comparison with traditional print citations? Scholarly communication is changing and new metrics are needed to measure impact meaningfully. Some initial steps are being taken to address these questions. Read more at altmetrics.org.

Open Access (OA)

SHERPA / RoMEO
SPARC Canadian Author Addendum
Creative Commons
OpenDOAR
eScholarship@McGill

Finishing the thesis/dissertation

McGill Thesis guidelines: http://www.mcgill.ca/gps/thesis/guidelines

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. 7th ed. Revised by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, and University of Chicago Press editorial staff. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. HSSL LB2369 T8 2007

Guidère, Mathieu. Méthodologie de la recherche: Guide du jeune chercheur en lettres, langues, sciences humaines et sociales. Rev. ed. Paris: Ellipses, 2004. HSSL LB2369 G9462 2004

Bolker, Joan. Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day: A Guide to Starting, Revising, and Finishing Your Doctoral Thesis. New York: H. Holt, 1998. Schulich LB2369 B57 1998

Publishing the thesis/dissertation

Kitchin, Rob, and Duncan Fuller. The Academic’s Guide to Publishing. London: Sage, 2005.
HSSL Z286 S37 K58 2005

Harman, Eleanor, Ian Montagnes, Siobhan McMenemy, and Chris Bucci, eds. The Thesis and the Book: A Guide for First-time Academic Authors. 2nd ed. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2003. HSSL Z286 S37 T53 2003

Loading

Teaching team members

Emily Kingsland, Liaison librarian, Humanities and Social Sciences Library
emily.kingsland@mcgill.ca

Nikki Tummon, Liaison librarian, Humanities and Social Sciences Library
nikki.tummon@mcgill.ca

 

 

 

 


 

 

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice