At the call number ML128 many bibliographies of music for individual instruments and voices and various ensembles may be found. Below are only a few examples:
Bibliographies of music literature list articles, books, dissertations and/or other materials written about musical topics.
Oxford University Press has launched an online series, Oxford Bibliographies, that deals with an expanding list of topics from "American Music Theory, 1955-2010" to "William Byrd."
Book-length bibliographies are also available online via the Library catalogue. To get a sense of the variety of different approaches, browse the shelves between ML113 and ML134. Some examples of what you'll find:
Searching the Library catalogue
General search tips
Use the basic word(s) anywhere or advanced keyword search in the library catalogue. You can search using words for such things as historical periods (e.g., baroque, renaissance, romantic), musical genres (e.g., punk, folk songs, symphonies), musical styles (e.g., galant, bop, minimalist music), instruments, and individual musicians.
Much of the literature written about music - books, articles, conference reports, reviews - is indexed in databases. Below are lists of the databases available at McGill for discovering this literature.
Music is an interdisciplinary subject touching on such areas as literature, sexuality and gender, mathematics, engineering, and sociology, just to name a few. Databases that index the literature of these related areas can also be helpful in music research. For database recommendations in other areas, please consult the complete list of McGill subject guides.
Please refer to some of the Music Library's other music subject guides: