Skip to main content
Online scores and indexes
McGill University Library catalogues
Comprehensive open-access collections
Commercial databases and publisher sites
Library and archival collections
- Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive (National Library of Denmark and Copenhagen University Library)
- Eastman / Sibley Music Library
- Indiana University
- Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) of the Bavarian State Library
- Music Treasures Consortium
The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The consortium includes The British Library, Harvard University, Juilliard School, The Library of Congress, The Morgan Library and Museum, and The New York Public Library.
- New York Philharmonic Digital Archives
Score and part collections from the Philharmonic's own music library (orchestral scores and parts, chamber music, vocal, piano, and miniature study scores). Includes marked scores from the libraries of conductors Leonard Bernstein and Andre Kostelanetz, as well as rare and first-edition scores from the Orchestra's early days in the mid-19th century.
Popular sheet music
Portals (indexes to other sites)
- Digital Resources for Musicology (DRM)
Provides links to open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. Produced by the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities, an affiliate of the Packard Humanities Institute, at Stanford University. Users can help develop this tool by using the ”Submit” button at the top of the page.
- Harvard Digital Scores Resources
Authoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
- Online Digital Musical Document Libraries (Wikipedia list)
- Virtual Library of Musicology (ViFaMusik)
Portal for music and musicology, providing links to numerous sites offering scholarly research and online resources. Advanced search options enable simultaneous searching across multiple catalogues.
- Classical Guitar Music in Printed Collections
- Fake Book Index
- Hofmeister XIX: Hofmeister Monatsberichte database (1829-1900)
- Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series (IPM)
- Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
- Primary Source Media microfilm index
The Music Library owns selections from the Music Manuscripts Collection, Series 1-5, and the entire Women Composers Collection
- Printed Sacred Music Database
Data and source information related to printed sacred music in Europe, 1500-1800
- RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
Free online catalogue includes: Series A/II, Music Manuscripts after 1600; Series A/I, Individual Prints before 1800; and a portion of B/I, Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles (Printed collections of the 16th-17th centuries), covering the years 1500-1550.
Use the Advanced search screen to search by publisher, plate number, A/I or B/I number, and musical incipit (using an on-screen keyboard). See the RISM site for more information.
- RISM A/II (via EBSCO)
- Renaissance music MSS on microfilm at McGill
- Renaissance printed music on microfilm at McGill
Themefinder searches databases containing musical themes or incipits. Enter pitches, intervals, scale degrees, or contour indications to find matching classical themes, folksongs, or 16th-century Latin motets. From the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (Stanford University).
- Zinfonia (music publisher portal)
Provides information from many of the world’s hire/rental and sale catalogues. Use the site to locate information about composers, title availability and publishers and to communicate directly with distributors to receive rental/sales quotes and place orders. Free registration required to access most services.