Skip to main content
Increasingly the Music Library purchases English-language books about music in electronic (e-book) format only. Some titles take time to appear in the Library’s McGill WorldCat catalogue. For access to the latest acquisitions you may have to check the following sites directly.
Selective list of music e-books collections
McGill’s 2 principal e-book providers are listed below. Their e-book content comes from a wide variety of publishers, not just scholarly presses. While it is possible to read e-books online without signing in, both providers place time or page limits on “browsing” and encourage readers to create an account. Once signed in, readers may “borrow” an e-book after downloading the free software Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). ADE allows access to borrowed e-books from many synched personal devices. Due to digital rights management (DRM) restrictions, both providers imposes limits to copying and printing.
A digital preservation repository that provides access to content in the public domain and copyrighted content from a variety of sources, including partner institutions such as McGill. McGill users can access over 3 million public domain volumes. To see full-text content, login with your McGill username and password after selecting an item.
- Google Books
A vast repository of digitized texts provided by "library partners" worldwide as well as participating publishers. Full text is available for materials in the public domain. Access to items under copyright varies from full text to "no preview" depending on agreements with the copyright holders.
- Internet Archive: Text Archive
Public domain materials including archives and published texts from university collections around the world: “free to read, download, print, and enjoy.”
- EEBO: Early English Books Online
Books (all languages) published in England and books in English printed in Scotland, Ireland, Wales and British North America 1475-1700.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Significant English and foreign-language books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in UK, and "important works" from the Americas, 1701-1800.]