Skip to main content

MRKT 657 Consumer Insights

Updated Fri, Jan 12: I've made a few small changes to the guide to emphasize the most important databases to use for your assignment. -- Ed.

Books and background information

You can search the Library catalogue for books to learn more about topics that are relevant to the course and your assignments (ex consumer behavior, retail design, shopping malls, etc…).

  • WorldCat: Use the facets on the left of your search results to limit results to books or ebooks.

Articles and news

You can search these databases for articles on topics related to the course, or to learn more about the shopping mall or retail industries that you are interested in.
 

Journal and magazine articles

For the best results you'll want to repeat your search in more than one database.

  • Business Source Complete: Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, market reports, industry reports, and news.
  • ABI/Inform: Similar to Business Source Complete, more emphasis on trade publications.
  • Google Scholar: Useful for finding relevant articles, although the coverage isn't as comprehensive as the databases listed above.
  • CBCA Complete: Canadian business and current affairs magazines.
     

Newspaper articles

  • Canadian Newsstream: Newspaper articles from over 300 Canadian newspapers. English-language only.
  • Eureka.cc: The only database that includes articles from French-language newspapers. Change source from "all content" to "Canada (FR)" to search all major French-language newspapers in Canada.

See also: Articles and News guide

Industry research

You can search our industry research databases for reports on forms of retail (ex shopping centers, grocery stores, etc) or on specific retail industries (shoe stores, women's clothing stores, etc).

The following databases contain reports on consumer goods & services.

Tips

  • Use reports from all three databases to get a complete picture of an industry (ex women's clothing).
  • If you can't find a report for the Canadian market, look for a US report and determine if the information there could be applied to the Canadian context.

See also: Industry Research guide

Consumer research

  • Vividata Target Snapshot : Psychographic and demographic data on Canadian consumers.
  • SimplyAnalytics: Create maps and reports using Canadian demographic data.
    You must create an account if you want to save your work. Limited to 5 users at a time.
  • Mintel: Reports include a databook spreadsheet containing details on consumer behaviour and preferences.
  • Passport: Reports on consumer lifestyles (click Consumers at the top of the page) provide details on trends in different areas: digital consumer, households, income & expenditures, lifestyles, population.

See also: Consumer Research guide

Statistics and data

Can't find a report or statistic?

In cases where the specific reports, statistics, or data are not available, you will need to carry out your own research, bringing together articles or news items that provide you with information you are interested in.

A few approaches you can try:

  • Look for reports for a more general industry or market and extrapolate the information there to your particular case. For example, if you can't find a report on men's running shoes, look for a report on men's sportsware and/or men's footware.
  • Look for reports for a related or broader geographic area. If you can't find a information on the Quebec market, see if you can find data for Canada, the US, or North America.
  • Search for individual articles or news stories on your topic for insights and statistics. Sometimes those articles will mention specific reports or data sources that you can track down for more information. See Articles and News box above for links to the best resources to use.

Interm Liaison Librarian for Management

Michael David MILLER's picture
Michael David MILLER
Contact:
Pronoms - il / lui
Pronouns - he / him / his
Bibliothèque et Archives
Library and Archives
514 398.7440
Website Skype Contact: michael.david.miller@mcgill.ca

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

Questions?

Find answers to the most frequently asked questions:

Off-campus access to e-resources

Install VPN software on your computer or tablet to connect to the McGill Network.

Cisco AnyConnect
(Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android)

Citing business sources

Citing business sources
For help on how to cite business sources in your assignment using APA style, see our guide:


Citation and References (pdf)
Slides on citing sources in your assignments.

 

Ask a librarian

Ask us!

Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.

Chat •  Email • Text • Phone

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice