Skip to main content

Mining Engineering: MIME 426 - Mine Design

Finding overviews or factual info

E-book collections

Need more? See Mining > Find books.

Core trade publications

Note:  For publications only available in print, you can click on the "request/scan" link in the library catalogue to request that the article you need be scanned to you.

Finding market conditions

Finding feasibility studies or articles on a topic

Possible search strategy

  • (feasib* OR scoping OR compar* OR "order of magnitude") AND (gold OR au) AND (mines OR miners OR mining) AND (type in the method, with its synonyms)

Databases

  • Compendex - comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database; can also select to search GEOBASE (earth sciences database) at the same time
  • CBCA Complete - provides references to Canadian publications

  • GeoRef - provides references to a variety of publications in the geosciences

  • Google Scholar useful for finding a few relevant articles on a topic

    • Search tips for Google Scholar:
      • you can include synonyms for just one concept and place parentheses around your synonyms, e.g., (feasibility OR scoping OR comparative OR "order of magnitude") gold mine
      • Google Scholar automatically searches for variant word endings
    • Guide: Google Scholar Search Tips & Tricks (handout)

Finding info on Canadian mines/mineral deposits

Geology, location, and economics 


Government policies 


Reports

  • Canadian Research Index – provides references to Canadian government publications at the federal, provincial, and municipal levels

About this page

This page pulls together information resources for MIME 426. If you need help, have any comments about this page or suggestions for things to add, please let me know.

Librarian

Giovanna Badia's picture
Giovanna Badia
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
room 207 (main floor)
514-398-7340
Website / Blog Page

Locating the complete text of references

  • Look for the Find Full Text button when searching databases. Click on this button to link to our catalogue.

  • Search the McGill WorldCat Catalogue to find journals or books, whether in print or electronic format.

  • McGill students and staff may order articles and books that are not available at McGill using COLOMBO

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice