Skip to main content

Middle East history

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on historical, archival and primary sources for the history of the Middle East. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Open Access

The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource. Plans are underway to add digital tools in order to enable scholars to work with and add to these materials.

Avalon Project: Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record includes full texts from the Sykes-Picot agreement through Camp David, Mitchell and Tenet. Includes documents beyond 2001.

British History online (BHO) is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles, including administrative, legal, and parliamentary documents. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users around the world and their learning and research.

Center for Palestine Studies at Columbia University (CPS) offers plethora of online resources on and about Palestine from the Sykes-Picot agreement to the Edward Said Archive.

EuroDocs gives access to sources for the History of Europe, including legal and governmental documents, transcriptions, facsimiles and commentaries. The France and the UK sections offer some documents related to their respective colonial history.

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook includes scholarly articles and primary source documents in a variety of subject areas.

Internet Library Sub-Saharan Africa (ilissAfrica) is a portal that offers an integrated access to relevant scientific conventional and digital information resources on the sub-Saharan Africa region. Information scattered on private or institutional websites, databases or library catalogues is brought together in order to facilitate research.

Jara'id: Arabic Newspapers of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine is an open archives of Palestinian newspaper hosted on the National Library of Israel website. It includes 38 titles published between 1908 and 1948 in Arabic.

The Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital.

Palestinian Academic Society for the Study of International Affairs provides access to a collection of maps covering much of Palestine’s modern history. While many of these maps represent PASSIA’s own work, others are drawn from secondary sources – as indicated beneath the individual maps.

The Palestinian Revolution is a platform making available hundreds of primary source materials (in Arabic and English translation) relating to the "Palestinian revolutionary practice and thought" between 1948 and 1982. The Cadres section which includes filmed interviews with Palestinian revolutionary cadres is continually updated.

Shared Heritage is a collaborative effort of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BNF) and Middle Eastern heritage/research libraries to digitize textual documents, photographs, maps, etc. covering the Levant including Iraq and Arabia Petrea from 1798 to 1945.

The United Nations Website includes digital copies of most work documents produced from1993, Security Council, General Assembly, and Economic and Social Council Resolutions from 1946, in addition to reports, agreements and legal instruments, statistics, etc.

Voyage en Afrique is a digital collection including a wide selection of documents (maps of peoples and kingdoms, colonial history, physical map, antique maps, nautical maps, full text books, journal articles), primarily in French, covering the entire African continent in the 18th and 19th century. A whole section of the website is dedicated to the history of French colonial policy in Africa (1830-1945).

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice