Skip to main content
Sources for Background Information
Guides and Handbooks
- Landscape Architect's Portable Handbook
SB472 D46 2001 (Ref)
- Time-saver Standards for Landscape Architecture
SB475.9 S72 T55 1998 (Ref)
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Art - Oxford Art online
(includes Grove Art Online)
- A Dictionary of Landscape Architecture
SB469.25 M67 1987 (Ref)
- Dictionnaire historique de l'art des jardins
SB469.25 C66 1997 (Ref)
- Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design
SB465 E63 2001 (Ref)
- Jardin: vocabulaire typologique et technique
folio SB450.95 B46 2000
- Lexicon of Garden and Landscape Architecture
SB469.25 V76 2006 (Ref)
- The Oxford Companion to Gardens
SB469.25 O95 1986 (Ref)
Core and Additional Databases, and Selected Journals
Indexes and Databases
- Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective
Be sure to select both the Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective when searching.
Z5937 A78 (Ref) & online via McGill Library
- ARTstor (image database)
online via McGill Library
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Bibliography of the History of Art = Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art (BHA)
Z5937 R552 (Ref) & online via McGill Library
- Canadian Architectural Periodicals Index: 1940-1980 = Index des périodiques d'architecture canadiens
Z5944 C3 B47 1986 (Ref)
- RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online (formerly API)
Z5941 A7x (Index Stand) & online via McGill Library
- Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens and Landscapes
- Bibliographie de l'art des jardins is aimed at the landscape architect and the historian researching French gardening from the 15th Century on. Entries are organized by genre of writing (prose or poetry) and, within prose section, chronologically. Includes indexes to authors and architects.
Z5996 A1 G36 1989 (Ref)
- Geschichte der Gartentheorie
SB470.5 W56 1989
- Landscape Architecture: A Classified Bibliography: with Selected References on Parks and Playground Design, and Recreational Improvement
Z5996 A1 H3 (Vertical File)
- Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Landscape Architecture in the United States is "a guide describ[ing] English-language publications and other resources containing information on landscape architectural history and practice in the United States. It is a selective rather than comprehensive list, concentrating on recent texts" (from the introduction). For descriptions of chapter contents see p. 16. Entries include useful annotations.
Z5996.5 U6 L36 1997 (Ref)
- Landscape, the Space Around Buildings: An Annotated Bibliography
Z5996 A1 G74 
- Environmental Design: A Selected Annotated Bibliography
Z5942 N38  (Ref)
Here is a list of selected books that are published in series relating to landscape architecture. To locate these series, copy the title from this list and then search under Keyword in Series in the Advanced Search screen.
- Penn studies in landscape architecture
- Center books on contemporary landscape design
Guide to Sources of Plans and Drawings
- Landscape Architectural Site Construction Details
- Landscape Architecture: An Illustrated History in Timelines, Site Plans and Biography
SB470.5 M37 1993
- Landscape Architecture Design and Maintenance
SB472 L26 1982
- Catalogue des ouvrages sur l'histoire de l'architecture de paysage. Université de Montréal, Service des bibliothèques.
Z5996 A1 U55 1992 (Ref)
- The Garden Library of the New Orleans Town Gardeners: Southeastern Architectural Archive, Tulane University Library: A Catalog.
Z5997 G37 1988
Change the title/text of this sidebar box to whatever you like.
You can also click the X in the corner of this box to remove it.