Skip to main content

Islamic history

Welcome - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on useful sources for the study of Islam. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Databases

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly and multidisciplinary database providing indexing, and abstracts for over 10,000 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials offers index to scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.

Historical Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present.

JSTOR is a subject searchable index of journals that retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online features more than 5,000 reference entries by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved under the guidance of the Editor in Chief, John L. Esposito.

ProQuest Research Library  is a scholarly and multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Taylor and Francis Online is a scholarly and multidisciplinary database providing access to more than four million articles.

Web of Science is a scholarly and multidisciplinary database covering medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. It also includes citation indexes.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic Studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice