Guides: Iranian studies: Persian literature

Dictionaries

A Comprehensive Persian-English dictionary, including the Arabic words and phrases to be met with in Persian literature
Online version of Joseph Steingass' Persian-English dictionnary published by Routledge & K. Paul, 1892.

Dictionary of Indo-Persian Literature by Nabi Hadi
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PK6427.6 I5 D53 1995
ISBN: 9788170173113
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
An English-Persian Dictionary by Dariush B. Gilani
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PK6379 G56 1999
ISBN: 9780936347950
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Includes approximately 22,000 entries. The Persian (Farsi) equivalents are also written in English letters for those unable to read Persian script. It provides the Persian equivalent rather than a descriptive meaning of the English word. The pronunciation of the Persian rather than the English is emphasised.
فرهنگ كامل جديد انگليسى فارسى by تاليف : عباس ارياپور كاشانى.آريانپوركاشانى ،عباسصالح، جهانشاه
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PK6379 A678 1963
Publication Date: 1963-1964
Storey Online by C.A. Storey
Publication Date: 2021
Charles Ambrose Storey’s Survey originally consisted of 5 volumes (1.1; 1.2; 2; 3; and 4) which were not allpublished. In 2020-2021, Brill published the missing volumes of this survey of Persian authors and their works, listing manuscripts and editions. Storey Online makes available all 6 volumes of 'Persian Literature: A Bio-bibliographical Survey',

Encyclopedias

The Cambridge History of Iran by W. B. Fisher (Editor); Stanley I. Grossman (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780521069359
Publication Date: 1968-10-01
The Cambridge History of Iran is an eight-volume survey of Iranian history and culture, and its contribution to the civilisation of the world. All aspect of the religious, philosophical, political, economic, scientific and artistic elements in Iranian civilisation are studies, with some emphasis on geographical and ecological factors which have contributed to that civilisation's special character. The aim is to provide a collection of readable essays rather than a catalogue of information.

Dehkhoda (لغت نامه دهخدا )
Developed and made accessible through Parsiwiki Project (پارسی ویکی), this dictionary is known to be the largest comprehensive Persian dictionary and was compiled by Ali Akbar Dehkhoda. It was first published in 1940 and later grew to 16 volumes. Each entry in this dictionary consists of a description, mode of usage, phonetics, examples and passages from Persian literature containing that entry. Moreover this dictionary includes words of other languages (Turkish, Mongolian, Hindi, Arabic, French, English, German, Russian etc.,) that are commonly used in Persian language.
Encyclopædia Iranica
"The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent."

Journals

Websites

Achemenet platform serves as an umbrella site connecting the International Network of Achaemenid Studies and Research, and makes available a wealth of resources about the Achaemenid Empire.

A Thousand Years of the Persian Book is an online exhibition of the Library of Congress exploring various aspects of Persian book culture: Persian language, Writing systems and scripts, the Epic of Shahnameh, etc.

Columbia University Center for Iranian Studies is an academic research center founded in 1968 with a strong focus on publications. CIS occasionally sponsors/arranges art exhibitions, film screenings, musical performances, or lectures for students, staff and the community.

Dissertation Reviews: Iran and Persian Studies features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Ganjoor /گنجور is an open access collection of Persian literature making accessible a diverse and extensive collection of classical and modern Persian poetry works.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon

She / Her / Elle

Email me

Contact:

3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1

514-449-1952

Subjects: African studies, Islamic and Middle East studies