Skip to main content
- Altmetric - Alternative to citation-based metrics. Gives a score for individual articles based on the quantity and quality of attention received, such as tweets and readers in Mendeley and CiteULike (example).
- Scopus - Provides citation counts from publications in Scopus but alternative metrics are also included using PlumX Metrics (Plum Analytics) when available.
- Web of Science - Provides citation counts from publications in Web of Knowledge databases (highly cited articles are included in Essential Science Indicators). Also provides usage counts from the last 180 days or since 2013. The counts are record exports (to EndNote, etc) and clicks to full text.
- Google Scholar - Provides citation counts from items in Google Scholar and links to Web of Science citations for those with access to the database. Watch this 2-minute video on Google Scholar "Cited by" option.
- Dimensions - Includes publication citations, linked clinical trials and patents, as well as supporting grants.
- PatCite - from The Lens. Find article citations in patents.
- CiteSeerX - Citation statistics for the literature in computer and information science.
- PubMed Commons (NCBI) - All authors of publications in PubMed are eligible to comment on articles in the database.
- Mendeley - Crowd-sourced resource that provides information on readership (included in Scopus PlumX Metrics).
- Individual publishers - Increasingly, publishers are providing metrics at the article level with information on the many ways that they are viewed, cited, saved, and discussed, such as Public Library of Science (PLOS), BioMed Central, Royal Society of Chemistry, and Institute of Physics. Citation counts, provided by CrossRef, are available for Springer articles and chapters.
The Turret (Schulich Library blog)
Ask a librarian
Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.
Chat • Email • Text • Phone