Skip to main content

How to find scores: Home

Overview

Tutorial: Finding Scores in Complete Works Editions Using Grove Music Online

How to find scores

Search Library Catalogues

WorldCat Local Catalogue (e- and print resources)

Classic Catalogue (print resources only)

McGill Music Library Sheet Music Collection

Composers' collected editions, monuments of music and historical sets

The following indexes are guides to the content.  To be comprehensive all publications may be consulted.

  • Index to Printed Music: Collections and Series (IPM)
    Based on Hill and Stephens, eds., Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography
  • Heyer, Anna Harriet, comp. Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents. 3rd ed. 2 vols. REF ML113 H52 1980
  • Hill, George R., and Norris L. Stephens. Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf, 1997. REF ML113 H55 1997

Verify the Music Library's holdings by searching the Library catalogues:

WorldCat Local Catalogue (e- and print resources)

Classic Catalogue (print resources only)

 

 

Several of the McGill Music Library's special collections include scores for loan or consultation. 

Music special collections

 

If it's not at McGill...

Always doublecheck with a full-time member of the Library staff before deciding that McGill does not own a particular item.

Check other Library catalogues in Montreal or beyond.

Borrowing from other libraries

If an item is not in the McGill Library collection, it may be available for consultation or loan at another Quebec library. Holders of McGill photo ID cards may obtain a BCI borrowing card, which grants its holder limited borrowing privileges at participating institutions.

All Montreal residents may obtain borrowing privileges at the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec and other local public libraries.

Interlibrary Loan

Print music resources (scores, books, and articles) may be requested from more distant libraries by completing an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form. For more information, visit the McGill Library borrowing items from other libraries page. Due to their fragility, music recordings are rarely available via ILL.

Suggest a purchase

The Marvin Duchow Music Library aims to provide collections that support and strengthen music performance, teaching, learning, and research at McGill University and beyond. Please direct any suggestions for expanding the collection to Cynthia Leive .

Loading

Librarian

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice