Skip to main content

GMCA Annual Case Competition

Resources to support the GMCA Annual Case Competition.

Workshop Presentation

Books and background information

You can search the Library catalogue for books to learn more about topics that are relevant to the case.

  • WorldCat: Use the facets on the left of your search results to limit results to books or ebooks.

Articles and news

You can search these databases for articles on topics related to the case.

You'll also need to use these sources to locate information that is not available through the company or industry research databases.
 

Journal and magazine articles

For the best results you'll want to repeat your search in more than one database.

  • Business Source Complete: Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, market reports, industry reports, and news.
  • ABI/Inform: Similar to Business Source Complete, more emphasis on trade publications.
  • Google Scholar: Useful for finding relevant articles, although the coverage isn't as comprehensive as the databases listed above.
  • CBCA Complete: Canadian business and current affairs magazines.
     

Newspaper articles

  • Factiva: News articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world.
  • Canadian Newsstream: Newspaper articles from over 300 Canadian newspapers. English-language only.
  • Eureka.cc: The only database that includes articles from French-language newspapers. Change source from "all content" to "Canada (FR)" to search all major French-language newspapers in Canada.

 

Tips on searching for information on fintech and legal/regulatory issues
Searching the journal and magazine article databases listed above for something like "financial technology" regulation canada  will return several relevant articles.

See also: Articles and News guide

Country research

These resources are useful for understanding the broader context of any market or business that you are interested in.

  • EIU Country Profiles: Analysis and forecasts of political, economic and business environments in more than 180 countries.
  • Marketline: PESTLE reports (political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental) for over 100 countries.

Industry research

You can search our industry research databases for reports on industries, markets, and product segments.

The following databases contain reports on wide range of industries:

  • IBISWorld: Broad range of industries. (Canada & US)
  • Mintel: Focus on consumer products and services. (Canada & US)
  • Passport: Focus on consumer products and services. (International)
  • Marketline: Broad range of industries. (International)
  • eMarketer: Reports related to e-business and digital aspects of 12 broad industries.

Tips

  • Use reports from multiple databases to get a complete picture of an industry.
  • If you can't find a report for the Canadian market, look for a US report and determine if the information there could be applied to the Canadian context.

See also: Industry Research guide

Company research

  • LexisNexis: Brief company profiles including board relationships, corporate hierarchies, NAICS and SIC industry classifications.
  • Mergent: Provides company overview, history, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, etc.
  • Marketline: Provides company overview, history, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, etc.
  • CB Insights: Venture capital database of startups and private companies.

See also: Company Research guide

Note: It is typically easier to find information on public companies as they are required to make available corporate reports, financial reports, and other information. Private companies have no such obligation, so information is harder to find.

Consumer research

Similar to industry reports, these reports are based on a combination of primary and secondary source data.

  • Mintel: Reports include a databook spreadsheet containing details on consumer behaviour and preferences.
  • Passport: Reports on consumer lifestyles (click Consumers at the top of the page) provide details on trends in different areas: digital consumer, households, income & expenditures, lifestyles, population.
  • Vividata Target Snapshot : Psychographic and demographic data on Canadian consumers.
  • SimplyAnalytics: Create maps and reports using Canadian demographic data.
    You must create an account if you want to save your work. Limited to 5 users at a time.

See also: Consumer Research guide

Statistics and data

Databases

  • Statista: Brings together statistics from a wide range of sources.
  • eMarketer: Statistics related to e-business.

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada provides data and statistics on a wide range of subjects.

CANSIM: Main database for accessing StatsCan data. Tables can be customized to change scope, time coverage, etc.

You can browse for data:

Additional sources

* Quebec and Montreal are listed here as examples. Most provinces, states, and major cities will have statistics portals similar to these.


See also: Data guide

Using Google to find information online

You can often find reports on companies, industries, and products online using Google.

For example, to find reports on the fintech industry, you can search for:

"financial technology" industry report filetype:pdf

Here's an example of the kind of report that you can find using this search:

Fintech in New York City, December 2015. NYCEDC Economic & Research Analysis.

Note that reports of this type are often published online as PDF files, so including filetype:pdf in your search limits helps to focus your search. You can always leave this out if you want to retrieve content in any format.

Liaison Librarian for Management and Business

Amanda Wheatley's picture
Amanda Wheatley
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
3459 McTavish Street
514-398-3921

Liaison Librarian for Management, Business, and Geospatial Data

Melissa Rivosecchi's picture
Melissa Rivosecchi
Contact:
514-398-1713

Need help? Ask us!

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

Off-campus access to e-resources

Install VPN software on your computer or tablet to connect to the McGill Network.

Cisco AnyConnect
(Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android)

McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice