eIFL.net - electronic Information for Libraries *a not for profit organisation, eIFL.net supports and advocates for the wide availability of electronic resources by library users in transitional and developing countries. Its core activities are negotiating affordable subscriptions on a multi-country consortial basis, supporting national library consortia and maintaining a global knowledge sharing and capacity building network in related areas, such as open access publishing, intellectual property rights, open source software for libraries and the creation of institutional repositories of local content.
Freemedicaljournals.com *promotes free access to medical journals, listed alphabetically, by specialty, or language
Global Health Delivery Project *aims to to systematize the study of health care delivery, to disseminate new learning to practitioners, and to improve health outcomes in resource-poor settings
GDN: Global Development Network *offers a range of journals services to address the difficulty faced by many researchers in the global south in accessing journal articles to support their research.
GOAP - Global Open Access Portal, UNESCO - "[D]esigned to provide the necessary information for policy-makers to learn about the global OA environment and to view their country’s status, and understand where and why Open Access has been most successful. "
HIFA2015 *global campaign and knowledge network with more than 2800 health professionals, librarians, publishers and others working together to achieve the HIFA2015 goal: By 2015, every person worldwide will have access to an informed healthcare provider.
Highwire Press *claims to be the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! As of March 2012, this archive contained over 2,100,000 free full-text articles. March 2012: There are 36 sites with free trial periods, 51 completely free sites, 273 sites with free back issues, and 1320 sites offering pay per view
PubMed Central (PMC) *a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The ever growing archive may be searched or browsed by title. PubMed Central Canada is now available! UK Pubmed Central (UKPMC) *based on PMC, UKPMC provides a stable, permanent, and free-to-access online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed UK publications.
Research4Life *collective name for the four programmes – HINARI, AGORA, OARE and ARDI.