Skip to main content

Geography (physical): Home

Librarian

Jennifer Zhao's picture
Jennifer Zhao
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
514-398-1273
Website / Blog Page

Questions

Ask us!

Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.

Chat •  Email • Text • Phone

Physical geography resources

Books

If you are not sure what your topic is all about, look it up in a dictionary or encyclopedia. Start with:

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Explore other reference sources from Oxford Reference Online.

Search the library's WorldCat Catalogue for more books

  

 

Search tips:

Truncation symbol: ? e.g. geograph? will retrieve catalogue records containing the wordsgeography, geographic, geographical, etc.
Phrase searching: "___" e.g. "third world" will retrieve catalogue records containing the phrase third world
Boolean operators: (), AND, OR, NOT
default: AND
e.g. geography AND (geosphere OR biosphere) will retrieve catalogue records containing the word geography AND either geosphere OR biosphere

 

You can also browse the shelves using the following call numbers:

  • G1-922    Geography (General)
  • GA1-1776    Mathematical geography. Cartography
  • GB3-5030    Physical Geography
  • GB400-649    Geomorphology. Landforms. Terrain
  • GB651-2998    Hydrology. Water
  • GB5000-5030    Natural disasters
  • GE1-350    Environmental sciences

Core databases for Geography

Theses and dissertations

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
    abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses, as well as over 600,000 full text dissertations and theses
  • eScholarship@McGill
    Open access digital repository of publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students

Reports

  • OECD iLibrary
    OECD publicationcover economic, environmental, and social issues including trade, education, labor, social policy, health, finance, development, energy, sustainability, science, and innovation
  • ​​UN iLibrary
    UN publications on topics include economic and social development, economic and climate change, human settlements and urban issues, population and demography, and public health

Additional databases for Geography

  • AGRICOLA
    all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines
  • BIOSIS Previews
    biology, environmental biology, biotechnology, agriculture
  • CAB Abstracts
    agriculture, forestry, rural development, natural resource management, health
  • Compendex
    all aspects of engineering, including transportation, pollution, soils, hydrology
  • INSPEC
    physics, electrical engineering, computers and computing, control theory, including remote sensing, GPS and GIS
  • Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
    meteorology, astrophysics, physical oceanography, hydrology, environmental sciences and glaciology
  • GreenFILE
    topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more
  • GREENE
    topics include sustainability and environment
  • PubMed
    Bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine

Find additional databases: Databases A-Z

Find a journal by title: E-journals A-Z

All McGill students and staff may request materials not available at McGill using the Interlibrary Loan Service, called COLOMBO. You may also request to scan print journal articles and book chapters.

Selected Internet sites for Geography

Citation style manuals

Citation management software licensed for McGill students, faculty and staff

  • EndNote is citation management software that you can install on your computer. It helps to organize your references with full text articles, and also generates in-text citations and the reference list in your paper.

Citation support

Resources for writing

Handy library services for your research:

Loading

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice