Skip to main content

Family Medicine

Accessing Resources from Home

Finding and Using Ebooks

Finding and Using eBooks, Information for Mobile Devices

Core Databases

Core Databases

  • PubMed - Free access to bibliographic information from MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, other non-indexed citations, and NCBI Books.
  • MEDLINE on Ovid (1946 -) - The full range of biomedical sciences, with clinical medicine at the core. Preferred interface for MEDLINE when building a systematic review search. See other MEDLINE database segments on OvidSP.
  • Embase Classic+Embase on Ovid (1947 -) - Biomedicine. Broad coverage of the European literature. NOTE: There is a limit on the number of simultaneous users
  • Cochrane Library Cochrane and other reviews (DARE), clinical trials (CENTRAL), methods studies, economic evaluations, technology assessments
  • Google Scholar - Restricts Google results to scholarly articles and websites. See "Punctuation, symbols & operators in search" for tips on searching

Additional Databases

Additional Databases

Other Resources Listing Databases

Other Resources Listing Databases

Search Filters for Family Medicine

Search Filters for Family Medicine

You can copy and paste these search filters (search strategies for a particular concept or study design, in this case designed to retrieve records related to family medicine) right into the applicable database to narrow your results down to articles that are potentially about family medicine. Note that the high sensitivity filter is designed to cast a wide net, which means you will still likely retrieve irrelevant results; the advantage is that you are less likely to miss relevant results.The high specificity filter will produce a narrower set of results that are proportionately more relevant (i.e., fewer false positives).

Source:

Pols DH, Bramer WM, Bindels PJ, van de Laar FA, Bohnen AM. Development and Validation of Search Filters to Identify Articles on Family Medicine in Online Medical Databases. Ann Fam Med. 2015 Jul;13(4):364-6. doi: 10.1370/afm.1780.

High Specificity Filter

PubMed

("Primary  Health  Care"[mh]  OR  "primary  care"[all  fields]  OR  "Physicians,  Family"[mh]  OR  general  pract*[all  fields]  OR  "family"[ad]  OR  family  pract*[all  fields]  OR  family  physician*[tw])

Ovid MEDLINE or Embase

  • this can also be used for other Ovid databases like Global Health, PsycINFO

(exp  Primary  Health  Care/  OR  primary  care.af.  OR  exp  Physicians,  Family/  OR  general  pract$.af.  OR  family.in.   OR  family  pract$.af.  OR  family  physician$.mp.)

Cochrane Library

([mh "Primary  Health  Care"]  OR  "primary  care"  OR  [mh  "Physicians,  Family"]  OR  general  pract*  OR  family pract*  OR  family  physician*:ti,ab,kw,pt)

High Sensitivity Filter

Suggestion: Use this filter for knowledge syntheses (e.g., systematic reviews, scoping reviews), when you are trying hard not to miss any records related to family medicine.

PubMed

("family"[all  fields]  OR  physician*[all  fields]  OR  practice*[tw]  OR  "primary  care"[all  fields]  OR  "Primary  Health  Care"[mh]  OR  primary[tw]  OR  general  pract*[tiab]  OR  gp[tiab]  OR  gps[tiab])

Ovid MEDLINE or Embase

  • this can also be used for other Ovid databases like Global Health, PsycINFO

(family.af. OR physician$.af. OR practice$.mp. OR primary care.af. OR exp Primary Health Care/ OR primary.mp. OR general pract$.af. OR gp.tw. OR gps.tw.)

Cochrane Library

(“family” OR physician* OR practice*:ti,ab,kw,pt OR “primary care” OR [mh “Primary Health Care”] OR “primary”:ti,ab,kw,pt OR general pract*:ab,ti OR “gp”:ab,ti OR “gps”:ab,ti)

Life Sciences Mobile Guide

Life Sciences Mobile Guide

Multimedia

Finding Video and other Multimedia Content in or via Subscription-Based Resources at McGill

Current Awareness Tools

Current Awareness Tools

  • EvidenceUpdates (Via BMJ Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit; requires free registration) - Emails of citations in various specialties (you choose) from 120 key clinical journals selected by clinicians as clinically relevant
  • Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics - Evaluations of new and previously approved FDA drugs, unbiased reviews of drug classes for common disorders
  • Daily POEMs - Via Essential Evidence Plus
  • PubMed/My NCBI Saved Searches - Create a free My NCBI account, run a search (learn how to build a search), and click on "Create alert" link below search box to save search and have PubMed records emailed to you on a scheduled basis
  • Current Awareness Resources - McGill Library guide

Information on Citation

Citing Your Sources

If you are collecting references for a project, looking for information on how to cite within a particular discipline, or interested in using software to collect and automatically format your list of references in the proper citation style, the following pages may be of use:

If you are writing a paper for a course, ask your professors what citation style they recommend. If you are publishing a journal article in the health sciences, consult the instructions for authors database or the journal website to find out what citation style they require your references to be formatted in.

 

EndNote: The short course (video)

EndNote on Windows: The short course (25 minute video)

Produced by Thomson Reuters (Note: EndNote is now owned by Clarivate Analytics)

EndNote on Macs: The short course (25 minute video)

Produced by Thomson Reuters (Note: EndNote is now owned by Clarivate Analytics)

Loading

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice