Skip to main content
East Asian studies
Sources for Background Information
Core and Additional Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1971-
Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- China Academic Journals (CAJ) Series G, Series F 中國學術期刊
Full text articles (1994 – present) from over 2,300 Chinese academic journals on art, humanities, social science and other fields.
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD)
An effective knowledge gateway to research materials from China in particular and Asia in general. Documents can be retrieved in their original format including graphs and illustrations.
- China Data Online 中國數據在線
A database covering comprehensive Chinese statistical information, including population, education, industrial, economic and cultural statistics.
- China Ancient Texts Database 漢達文庫(CHANT)
CHANT provides access to transmitted texts and excavated texts from ancient China (antiquity to late 6th century).
- Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Each week The Current Digest presents a digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, economics, business, health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China.
- EBSCO (Academic search complete) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.
- Institute of Chinese Modern History, Chinese Academy of Social Science
- Hong Kong Journals Online A full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. Issues included vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1872. Currently, more than 491,290 images from over 60 titles will be accessible on the database.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) 1951-
Includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and chapters published since 1951. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
- JSTOR and Asian Studies Journals on JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of important scholarly journals. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
- Ming Qing Women's Writings 明清婦女著作
This project is dedicated to the digitization of collections of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911). It currently contains digitally scanned images of 161 titles of writings by women that are in the holdings of Harvard and several other participating libraries.
- National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库
About 560 important Chinese journals produced at Chinese governmental institutions are no longer available in commercial aggregated databases, but are available for free in the National Social Sciences Database.
- National Science Library, Chinese Academy of Sciences 国家科学图书馆
- OriProbe Open Resources
This database includes China Legal Access such as Laws, Policies, Regulations and China Business References etc.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the humanities, social sciences.
- ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from most inclusive general references ProQuest has to offer.
- Ren min ri bao 人民日報 (People's Daily, 1946-)
Electronic version of the official Chinese newspaper in mainland China. Coverage from 1946 to present.
- Shenbao 申報
Electronic version of Shenbao 申報. Shenbao developed into the first modern newspaper in China and soon became the most read daily paper nationwide. The database covers the full run of Shenbao, from April 1872 to its cessation in May 1949. In this version, the database makes available searchable fulltexts and pdf-images of most issues.
- Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊
A collection of the main works reprinted from the rare Song, Yuan, and Ming editions.
- Si ku quan shu 四庫全書 (文淵閣版)
A comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship up to the 18th century.
- Scripta Sinica 漢籍電子文獻資料庫
A full-text database containing about 460 Chinese pre-modern works essential to research in traditional Sinology. It contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
- Sinica Sinoweb 中研院漢學網 Full-text database, full image version of 13 journals on Sinology published in Taiwan.
- National Taiwan University Journal Database 臺大學術期刊資料庫 Full text journal articles published by National Taiwan University on science, social science and humanities.
- 晚清期刊全文數據庫 Late Qing Dynasty Fulltext Database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China.
- Zhongguo li dai shi ke shi liao hui bian 中國歷代石刻史料匯編
This database compiles more than 17,000 metal and stone inscriptions selected by the National Library of China.
- Zhonghua jing dian gu ji ku 中華經典古籍庫 Also known as: Zhonghua Ancient Books Database. A collection of the well-known Zhonghua Shuju edited and punctuated standard editions of the Chinese classics classified as jingbu, shibu, zibu, ji bu, and congshu.
E-Journals (in English)
- Asian Perspectives Semiannual journal of archaeology; Asian and Pacific history; prehistory; and anthropology
- The China Quarterly The Cambridge Journals
- Early China publishes original research on all aspects of the civilization of China from earliest times through the Han dynasty period (CE 220). It is interdisciplinary in scope, including Chinese archaeology, history, religion, literature, and paleography.
- Early medieval China 中国中古研究.
A journal devoted to academic scholarship relating to the period roughly between the end of the Han and beginning of the Tang eras.
- Journal of Anthropological Archeology From the earliest archeological evidence for the emergence of human culture to historically documented societies and the contemporary observations of the ethnographer, ethnoarcheologist, or sociologist.
- Journal of Inner Asian Art and Archeology A major forum for discussion of current international research projects and fieldwork concerning the art and archeology of Inner Asia. Uniquely the journal covers the vast regions flanking the ancient Silk road .
Primary Sources (in English)
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Including news on China between 1800-1900.
- Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Including news on China between 1800-1860.
- North China Herald Principal English newspaper published in Shanghai, China during the so called "treaty century"(1842-1943), when the Great Western Powers established a strong presence in China.
- Chinese Recorder This collection answers a need for clear, intelligible and informative English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. It Includes almost any aspect of Chinese modern history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power, with manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online Including many files such as manuscripts, maps, photos, monographs, images on Asia and the West, and cultural and diplomatic exchange.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chinese Newspapers Collection This database provides easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time period 1832-1953.
DVDS / E-Videos
- The Memory Project Pilot Video Oral Histories Records This project was undertaken by Wu Wenguang's documentary film studio to document life in rural China during the mid-20th Century..
- Kanopy Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
- Films on Demand Major subjects covered include:Area studies, Asia and Pacific, anthropology, etc.
Selected Internet Suites
China (Internet Resources)
Newspapers / Journals
East Asian Electronic Journals
East Asian Libraries and Organizations in Canada & US