Skip to main content
Digital Scholarship at McGill
McGill Digital Humanities Initiative
The Faculties of Arts, Music, and Religious Studies, and the McGill Libraries, researchers have take the lead to better organize and coordinate Digital Humanities research at McGill under this umbrella initiative.
The Research Commons offers a large meeting and presentation space featuring a video wall and powerful computer to facilitate data visualizations, fine-level examination of images, and other work requiring a large projection area. The collaboration space offers bookable spaces, three 3D printers, a 3D scanner, and a computer workstation with 3D design software.
Citing and Publishing Research Data
Citing data improves research integrity, research impact, collaboration, acknowledgement, and reward. Data citation is an emerging direction in scholarly communications.
Maps and Geospatial Data
The McGill Library holds an extensive collection of geospatial information resources, including over 200,000 print maps, historical air photos, orthophotos, satellite imagery, and spatial data sets.
Numeric Data Services and McGill Library Data Lab
McGill Library offers support for numeric data discovery, access and use. Librarians can help you discover data for your research (open and licensed by the Library) and also assist in helping you use and manipulate data in statistical software platforms, including: SPSS, SAS, Stata and R. The McGill Library Data Lab (located on the second floor of the McLennan Building, Room M2-37A) offers access to qualitative and quantitative statsitical software as well as consultations on a walk-in basis and workshops.
Project Management Resources
Digitization and Publishing Services @ McGill
McGill library offers specialized high-end digitization services for material in our collections free of charge in support of research.
Digital Collections and Exhibitions
Over 70 examples of digital collections and exhibitions from the McGill Library Collections.
A digital institutional repository which stores and showcases the scholarly publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students.
Scholarly Publishing @ McGill
The Library supports the distribution of open access research through the publishing of journals, conference proceedings and other forms of scholarly work.
McGill IT web hosting
Web hosting allows you to publish your web pages on a centrally managed system that is secure, reliable and easily recoverable, and offers a reduced risk of server downtime.
Collections of digital tools to get you started
DiRT - Digital Research Tools
Registry of digital research tools for scholarly use organized by task or action.
Community driven online directory of digital humanities projects and people looking for collaborators. An initiative of centerNet.
Focus: Open source tools
Focus: Pedagogy, publishing tools
Digital Library Services Librarian
Focus: Digitization, digital collections, text analysis
User Experience and Digital Technologies Librarian
Focus: User experience, open workflows, reproducibility
Focus: Metadata, social media research methods and tools