- Getty Open Studio Project - The Open Studio Project makes it possible for more schools to have an artist-in-residence, virtually. Any K-12 art classroom with an Internet connection can bring in art-making activities created by a roster of international artists.
- A Lifetime of Color - Activities, lesson plans, and interactive games
- Crafts for Kids - crafts projects are for preschool, kindergarten and elementary school children
- Discovery School's Clip Art Gallery - hundreds of original clip art pieces, including animations
- KinderArt - large collection of free art lessons and art education information
- English Server Drama Collection - a collection of original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre
- Teaching Theatre - Educational Theatre Association's quarterly journal for theatre educators
- On Broadway Information Page - information on Broadway plays and musicals
- Speech Accent Archive - presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds (native and non-native speakers of English)for comparison and analysis of accents
- Boggle's World ESL for Kids - resource site for teaching elementary and middle school English
- Dave's ESL Cafe - ESL and EFL resources for teachers and students
- Guide to Grammar and Writing - comprehensive, including computer-graded quizzes
- Links of Interest to Students & Teachers of English as a Second Language - maintained by The Internet TESL Journal
- Online Writing Lab (Purdue University) - resources, handouts and exercises for English as a Second Language (ESL) students and teachers
- Khan Academy - From the American A compilation of over 2,100 educational videos, lessons and self-tests on a variety of subjects (math, science, economics, finance, history, etc.).
- Top 25 Best Websites for Teaching and Learning - From the American Association of School Librarians (AASL): "The top 25 websites foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. They are free, Web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover."
- Internet Literacy Handbook - A Guide from The Council of Europe for parents and teachers who want to teach internet literacy to young people. Includes 25 fact sheets on themes such as searching for information, spam, chat, games, creativity, privacy, security, social networking, Web 2.0 and becoming an active e-citizen. Each fact sheet contains a general introduction to the theme, ethical considerations, best practice examples and links to further information.
- Interactives - online activities that offer interactive tutorials and projects on specific topics and skills in math, language, history, science, and arts
- OER Commons - a global teaching and learning network of free-to-use resources
- TeacherTube - online community for sharing instructional videos
- Childcare & Early Education Research Connectons - nearly 9,000 from the various disciplines related to child care and early education
- Google for Educators - teacher's guide to 12 Google products, examples of how educators are using them, and lesson ideas
- Flickr - for finding free-to-use photographs and image (limit your search to Creative Commons licensed material in the advanced search)
- Educational Software Cooperative - brings together developers, publishers, distributors and users of educational software
- SuperKids Educational Software Review - a parent's and teacher's guide to educational software
- Holidays on the Net - ideas on how to plan holiday celebrations in your classes
- Economist Country Briefings - news, country profiles, forecasts, statistics and more on countries throughout the world
- Virtual Museum of Canada Teachers' Centre - teaching resources in many subject areas developed by museum professionals
- Virtual Library Museum Pages - directory of online museums
- American Rhetoric - index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews and other recorded media events
- Canadian Heritage Gallery - the most extensive collection of historical Canadiana on the Internet
- Canada's Official Geographical Names Website
- Indians of North America: Selected Resources - a compilation of many of the resources on the Indians of North America available at the Library of Congress as well as selected resources outside the Library
- History in Film - educational materials related to popular films that deal with historical subjects
- Best History Web Sites - annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well links to hundreds of quality K-12 history teaching resources
- Atlas of Canada
- Biography.com - search over 25,000 of the greatest lives, past and present.
- Omnibiography.com - OmniBiography.com is the largest directory of biographies available on the Web containing information on more than 110,000 important people from antiquity to the present time.
- Best of History Web Sites - Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
- Teaching about the Holocaust - Resources from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum including guidelines, topics, lesson plans and activities.
Language arts and literature
- Languageguide.org - language-learning tool offered in 13+ languages, offering three types of resources: pictorial vocabulary guides, interactive readings, and grammar guides.
- Cambridge History of English and American Literature - The Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
- Author Name Pronunciation Guide - from TeachingBooks.net, a collection of brief recordings of authors and illustrators saying their names.
- Lost Titles, Forgotten Rhymes: How to Find a Novel, Short Story, or Poem Without Knowing its Title or Author - this guide from the Library of Congress aims to help readers identify a literary work when they know only its plot or subject, or other textual information such as a character's name, a line of poetry, or a unique word or phrase.
- Wired for Books - a selection of audio books and author interviews.
- Statway - focused on statistics, data analysis and quantitative reasoning, Statway is designed as a one-year pathway that concentrates on statistical content with requisite arithmetic and algebraic concepts taught and applied in the context of statistics and is structured especially to serve students planning to transfer and continue further studies in humanities or social sciences
- Educational Resources for K-12 Mathematics Teachers
- Math Archives - teaching materials, software, WWW links organized by mathematical topic
- Math Forum Teachers' Place - resources for teaching math at all levels
- Mathematics Virtual Library - collection of mathematics-related resources maintained by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics
- Collected Learning Units in Mathematics - developed by teachers attending summer institutes sponsored by the National Security Agency, this site provides more than 200 instructional units in arithmetic, algebra, calculus, data analysis, fractions, geometry, number theory, pre-algebra, pre-calculus, probability, statistics, and trigonometry
- InterMath - lesson plans, workshop materials and more to support teachers in becoming better mathematics educators
- K-12 Resources for Music Educators - resources for music educators and students of all areas and educational levels
- Your Guide to the Religions of the World - BBC site that provides basic information about world religions.
- Green Chemistry Teaching Resources - includes resources such as downloadable pocket guides to basic green chemistry principles, "Greener Education Materials for Chemists" from the University of Oregon, and an "Activities and Experiments" section that freatures grade level rated activities like "Gassing Up Without Air Pollution" and "Cleaning Up With Atom Economy."
- 12 Mobile Learning Science Applications for the iPod Touch - describes uses of the iPod touch in the classroom and how these specific applications can be used; includes apps such as "Particle Zoo," "Science House," "Distant Suns," "Mitosis," and "Molecules."
- BioEd Online: Biology Teacher Resources - lessons, lab techniques, teaching strategies, and teacher resource guides, all linked to content standards.
- Science Fair Project Ideas, Answers & Tools - includes helpful tools such as a topic selection wizard and step-by-step directions that make it possible for students to choose and complete a science fair project from the most basic to quite complex
- NOVA Online: Teachers - award-winning source for standards-based classroom resources in science, technology and engineering, from NOVA and other public television series
- American Association of Physics Teachers - resources for teaching physics at different levels including downloadable teacher resources and guides
- Earth Science Teaching Plans and Classroom Activities - organized into nine thematic areas, including "Volcanoes", "Water", "Weather", "Erosion", and "Plate Tectonics", the resources featured within each section are taken from high-quality institutions and organizations, including the Smithsonian, Harvard, and the National Science Foundation
- Access Excellence - resources for K-12 science teachers and science education students
- The Jason Project - content and tools for teaching middle-grade science
- Science Net - a guide to general and Kindergarten to Grade 12 science websites on the Internet developed by the Toronto Public Library
- The Science Spot - activities, lessons, & worksheets for science teachers
- Stanford Solar Center - a collection of multi-disciplinary, interactive exercizes and activities based on the Sun and solar science, most geared to grades 4-12
- Anatomy of the Human Body - Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features over 1,200 engravings from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries.
- The Complete Works of Charles Darwin - Cambridge University's collection of handwritten manuscripts, Darwin bibliography and hundreds of supplementary works such as biographies, obituaries, reviews, reference works and more.
- Brought to Life: Exploring the History of Medicine - a range of classroom activities, curriculum links and themes for discussion in the classroom around the subject of the history of medicine
- Social Studies Education Home Page - teaching resources from Wayne State University
- Resources for Social Studies Teachers - includes lesson plans, mailing lists, teaching current events, standards, curricula, and more
- Citizenship & Immigration Canada - Educational materials and activities for learning about citizenship, the immigrant experience, and other global issues
- Atlas of Canada - A selection of useful resources (lesson plans, quizzes, printable maps) for teaching and learning about our country
- National Geographic Map Machine - find nearly any place on Earth, browse antique maps, find country facts, national park trail maps, etc.
- UNICEF Voices of Youth - a space for students to explore, discuss and partner on issues related to human rights and social change, as well as develop their awareness, leadership, community building, and critical thinking skills through active and substantive participation with their peers and with decision makers globally.
Special/ gifted education
- Office of Special Education - Web resources for special education from University of Virginia
- Awesome Library - Physical Education - teaching resources in physical education
- Library of Sport, Coaching, and Physical Education - hundreds of articles on dozens of sports, coaching and physical education topics
- Sport Canada - information on sport programs, sport policy, and major games and hosting from the Federal Government
- Sports Media - lesson plans for sports and physical education
- SIRC - virtual resource center for sports information
- Active Healthy Kids Canada - programs, policy, articles, and curriculum ideas to promote physical activity opportunities for all Canadian children and youth.
- Historic Baseball Resources - digital collections from the Library of Congress, including ready-to-use lesson plans, student activities, collection guides and research aids.