Guides: Company Research: Home

Statement on the Educational Use of Databases

The use of McGill Library's professional business databases is limited to academic purposes. These databases are not to be used on behalf of external organizations or for commercial reasons.

Students completing internships may not access resources and reports on behalf of their employers.

Please refer to the McGill Library policy on electronic resources or to the licensing and conditions of use for further information.

Welcome

Welcome to the Company Research guide. Here you will find information on the resources available to you as a McGill Student to help in your business research.

We recommend that you view company profiles from a number of databases to get a complete picture of a company, as the kinds of information, level of detail, and amount of related information will vary from database to database.

Note: It is typically easier to find information on public companies as they are required to make available corporate reports, financial reports, and other information. Private companies have no such obligation, so information is harder to find.

Accessing Resources Off-Campus

Accessing Online Resources from the McGill Library
» with the EZProxy : use your email address and password
» with the VPN : download, install and activate (with McGill email address and password)

VPN Download

Cisco Secure Client
(Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android)

Company Databases

Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from key trade publications, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, market reports, etc.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.

Other databases

Alpha Vantage Stock Market API
Open-access web service with access to 20+ years of time series price and fundamental data for companies listed in Canada (Toronto Stock Exchange), United States (NYSE and Nasddaq), Europe, and more.
CB Insights
Venture capital database of startups and private companies. Includes brief company description, financing details, and board members.
VPN for off-campus access. You will also need to create an account using your McGill email address.
Canadian Corporate Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Canadian Corporate Reports Project comprises historical annual reports from major Canadian corporations. The collection, which traces many companies back to the 19th Century, consists of annual reports of approximately 2,000 Canadian corporations in all business sectors.
EDGAR
United States public company filings through the Securities and Exchange Commission. Use to review public U.S. companies for financial and annual reports.
FP Survey, Predecessor & Defunct
- This link opens in a new window
The comprehesive record of changes to Canadian public corporations covering 86 years with details of name and incorporation changes, amalgamations, takeovers and acquisitions affecting more than 28,700 corporate entities.
Frasers.com
Industrial supplies, Canadian

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (Canada, U.S.)

ICRIQ
Quebec companies (Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Industrial-related service companies)
International Directory of Company Histories
- This link opens in a new window
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.

Investext
Contains investment research reports on companies and industries, prepared by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide.
J.P. Morgan Research
- This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Derived from Morgan Markets - J.P. Morgan's exclusive information for key clients and investors - these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Intelligence reports and analysis for business and industry sectors, with company listings and geographic browsing options.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company reports including annual reports, company history, executive profiles, financials, supply chain data, etc. (International)
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Annual reports (1844-2008) available for over 800 companies, 43,000 reports, 1.3M pages. Searchable puff images with indexed data such as: financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor and related companies. It can also be browsed by company name, related names, industry or date. Coverage: 1844 - 2008
SEDAR
- This link opens in a new window

Supply Chain Strategy Lab
Research on existing supply chain management and it's improvement since 2004.
Thomas Net
Canadian manufacturers, suppliers, distributers, etc.
Yellow Pages
Directory of businesses in Canada.

Our FAQs are filled with great tips on how to find information for Management and Business resources in the McGill Library.

Company Research

Liaison Librarian for Management and Business

Liaison Librarian for Management and Business

Statement on the Educational Use of Databases

Welcome

Accessing Resources Off-Campus

Company Databases