Music in Canada: A Research and Information Guide
ML120 C2 M67 1997
Updated in ICM: Institute for Canadian Music Newsletter, vol. 2, no. 3 (September 2004)
Canadian Music and Music Education: An Annotated Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations
ML120 C2 P47 1997
Répertoire bibliographique de textes de présentation générale et d'analyse d'oeuvres musicales canadiennes (1900-1980)
ML120 C3 R425 1983
Catalogue search tips
You can search using words for such things as historical periods (e.g., baroque, renaissance, romantic), musical genres (e.g., punk, folk songs, symphonies), musical styles (e.g., galant, bop, minimalist music), instruments, and individual musicians.
|Truncation symbol:||? or *||e.g. canad? or canad* will retrieve catalogue records containing the words canada, canadian, canadien, canadiennes, etc.|
|Phrase searching:||"___"||e.g. "tuning of the world" will retrieve catalogue records containing the exact phrase tuning of the world|
|Boolean operators:||( ), AND, OR, NOT
|e.g. "popular music" AND (quebec OR canada) will retrieve catalogue records containing the phrase popular music AND either of the words quebec OR canada|
From the Basic Search screen of the Classic Catalogue, select Call number begins with... and enter one of the call numbers below, or simply browse the Music Library shelves at:
|ML21 C...||Directories to music resources in Canada|
|ML120 C...||Bibliographies - Canada|
|ML205||Music - Canada - History and criticism|
|ML3484||Popular music - Canada - History and criticism|
|ML3509 C...||Jazz - Canada - History and criticism|
|ML3563||National music - Canada|
|MT3 C...||Music education in Canada|
From the Basic Search screen of the Classic Catalogue, select Subject heading begins with... and enter one of the suggested subject headings below (the dashes are not necessary).
Music – Canada
Music – Quebec
Composers – Canada
Composers – Quebec
Folk music – Canada
Folk Music – Quebec
Popular music – Canada
Popular Music – Quebec
Specific composers names: e.g., Pentland, Barbara; Mitchell, Joni
The most efficient way of finding periodical literature is to search in literature databases, since individual articles are not indexed in the Library catalogue.
Canadian music is covered in many journals of interest to the general reader. The indexes below will provide relevant citations and sometimes full text of articles not found in the music-specific databases above.
Newspapers are often useful sources of profiles of Canadian composers, musicians, and music societies; performance reviews; or broader discussions of the arts and Canadian / Québécois identity. Consult McGill Library's Newspapers page to gain online access to recent Canadian and international newspapers.
Online Canadian historical newspapers include the complete run of The Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star.
In general, however, pre-1990 newspapers are searchable only through print indexes and full-text is found on microfiche only.
All print indexes to Canadian newspapers and general-interest periodicals are available at the Humanities and Social Sciences Library in the Reference Section. Ask a reference librarian for assistance in selecting the proper index for the newspaper and year of interest. Please note: performance reviews may not be found in every index or may be grouped under a specific heading such as “Concerts, review…” or “Performance” or “Reviews.”
Dissertations are book-length papers written by graduate students in partial fulfillment of a Ph.D. or other doctoral degree requirements. Because they represent new areas of research and undergo a rigorous academic evaluation process, dissertations can be excellent resources for finding information on Canadian music topics. Be sure to check their bibliographies for further reading.
For more online dissertation resources, consult the theses page.
The Music Library audio / video recordings collection includes many Canadian works and performances by Canadian musicians. For further information on locating these recordings consult the How to find recordings page.
The Music Library subscribes to several recordings databases. The following contain significant Canadian content:
For free online streaming audio sites dedicated to Canadian music, see the next section, Selected Internet sites.
Accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.
All libraries above require registration for full use of their on-site resources and services. Please inquire at the individual libraries for further details.
A BCI card allows its holder to borrow materials from other academic libraries. McGill undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty can request a card from the service desk of any McGill branch library. Graduate and faculty BCI cards grant their holders borrowing rights at participating university libraries across Canada. For more information, visit McGill Library's "Borrowing in person at other universities" page.
Students and faculty may use other libraries' collections - possibly with certain restrictions - even if they do not have borrowing privileges.