Skip to main content

Couple and Family Therapy: Home

Sources for background information

Background reading

Browsing for books in Couple and Family Therapy

Call number Subject
           RC475 - RC569              Psychotherapy, family therapy, group work, etc.
                          WM430 Family therapy,  group therapy

 

Handbooks, companions and guides

Evidence-based practice resources

Core and additional databases

Core databases

  • PsycInfo Covers behavioural sciences and mental health literature. Indexes over 2,500 journals. Additional materials include books, dissertations and secondary publications.
  • PsycArticles Indexes articles in journals published by the American Psychological Association (including APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber). Also includes APA handbooks and psychological tests and measurements.
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text Extensive coverage of allied health literature. Indexes over 4,900 journals. Additional materials include books, select conference proceedings, and audiovisuals.
  • MEDLINE (Ovid) Covers international biomedical literature, including allied health. Indexes approximately 5,400 journals.
  • ERIC - A key database for education, with journal articles and other education-related material such as books and reports. It is available in three interfaces (the content is identical):

Multidisciplinary databases

  • Scopus Major multidisciplinary database that includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
  • Web of Science Major multidisciplinary database for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, as well as the Sciences. Includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
  • Google Scholar Searches scholarly literature across disciplines and sources and includes some grey literature. Learn how to search for McGill Library's full text holdings here.

Filtered evidence-based practice resources

Audiovisual materials

Databases

  • Counseling and Therapy in Video: An online collection of over 500 video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews.
  • Films on Demand: Multidisciplinary collection of videos. Search by keyword or title, or browse by collection (e.g. Guidance & Counseling, or Psychology).
  • PsycTherapy: Streaming video of 300+ hours of psychotherapy demonstrations featuring 95 renowned North American therapists. Videos cover over 200 topics and 65 therapeutic approaches. Includes transcripts and playlist capability.

Librarian

Nikki Tummon's picture
Nikki Tummon
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library RM-27A
514-398-5727

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice