Skip to main content

MyResearch - Humanities

This guide accompanies the MyResearch graduate seminar series for the humanities.

Library Study Spaces

Library Study Spaces:

  • Individual Study Spaces
  • Group Study Spaces
  • Bookable Study Spaces
  • Graduate Study Spaces

Borrowing From the Library

Graduate Loan Basics:

  • 4 months
  • Unlimited renewals
  • 80 items
  • No overdue fines
  • Recall fines – 5 dollars a day

http://www.mcgill.ca/library/services/borrowing/students/

Finding your liaison librarian

Every subject area has a dedicated subject liaison librarian.

The liaison librarians can help with :

  • the discovery of information resources for your learning and research

  • the utilization and exploitation of library research resources such as ebooks, databases, digital archives and bibliographic management software 

  • questions of copyright and scholarly communication in their disciplinary areas

Finding your subject research guides

McGill Library Subject Research GuidesEvery subject area has a dedicated subject research guide.

 

These subject research guides are created and maintained by the Academic Librarians of McGill.

 

The guides can help you identify and locate subject-specific : 

  • databases and journals
  • archival and primary resources

  •  sources for background information / reference sources

  • major works

Finding books

Classic Catalogue

The Cassic Catalogue :

  • lets you access to print materials - books, microforms, media, music, magazines, periodicals, journals, etc.
  • shows you recently added print materials - New Print Titles
  • allows you access to your McGill University Library Account
  • allows you to search the unique collections of our branch libraries individually - Sub-Catalogues

WorldCat Catalogue

The WorldCat Catalogue :

  • allows you to find print and electronic resources of the library
  • includes academic articles in its search results
  • search all BCI University Library catalogues
  • submit Interlibrary Loan requests

Finding journals & articles

Use either WorldCat, the Databases A to Z or the eJournals A to Z lists to find journals and journal articles. 

Finding films & streaming video

Use WorldCat and the classic catalogue to search for individual film titles or the databases below to browse film resources available at the McGill University Library. 

Rare Books & Special Collections

Places to start for information on Rare Books and Special Collections:

University Archives

Places to start for information on the McGill University Archives

Librarian for the Humanities

Lonnie Weatherby's picture
Lonnie Weatherby
Contact:
Humanities & Social Sciences Library-
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-5031

Librarian for the Humanities

Michael David MILLER's picture
Michael David MILLER
Contact:
Pronoms - il / lui
Pronouns - he / him / his
Bibliothèque et Archives
Library and Archives
514 398.7440
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Slides & Handouts

Moduel 1 - MyResearch - Humanities

EndNote Essentials

Module 2 - MyResearch - Humanities

Graduate Research Tool Kit

Osler Library of the History of Medicine

Place to start for information on the Osler Library of the History of Medicine:

Visual Arts Collection

Places to start for information on the Visual Arts Collection:

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice