Skip to main content

Ottoman & Turkish studies

Welcome - Merhaba - Hoşgeldiniz ! This guide focuses on useful sources for Ottoman and Turkish studies. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Digital collections

CEEOL - Central and Eastern European Online Library includes digital periodicals from Turkey and other parts of the former Ottoman Empire.

Cumhuriyet Dönemi Makaleler Bibliyografyası is a searchable index to periodical articles about the period 1923-1999 in Turkey, found in Turkish periodicals.

Database for Ottoman Inscriptions (DOI) is a searchable database of Turkish, Arabic and Persian architectural inscriptions created in the Ottoman lands during Ottoman times.

Digivatlib is the Vatican Library's repository for digitized manuscripts, and includes 100 Ottoman manuscripts.

Dissertation Reviews: Ottoman and Turkish Studies: founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a site featuring overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Hakkı Tarık Us Collection is a digital archive of Ottoman periodicals available at the Beyazit State Library.

Historians of the Ottoman Empire aims at offering scholars a major bio-bibliographical reference book on Ottoman historians.

H-Turk is the H-Net/TSA network for Ottoman and Turkish studies.

İlahiyat makaleler veri tabani is a database of articles on Islamic studies published by Theology Faculties in Turkey and managed by İSAM - İslam Araştırmaları Merkezi.

IRCICA: Farabi Digital Library includes digital Salname's: Ottoman Yearbooks, and a collection of official Ottoman State Yearbooks (Salname). Note that registration is required to access some features.

ISAM (Turkiye Diyanet Vakfi) is ISAM Library's articles and theses databases.

ISAM (Center for Islamic Studies in Istanbul) manuscript database provides online access to ISAM's manuscript database.

LexiQamus; An Online Tool for Deciphering Illegible Words in Manuscripts in Arabic Letters is a website designed by Ahmet Abdullah Sacmali to solve illegible words in Ottoman Turkish which is especially critical for those dealing with archive documents.

Milli Kütüphane Başkanlığı Süreli Yayınlar Bilgi Sistemi is a full-text database of Ottoman periodicals. It is continually updated. Each user must register in order to enlarge the thumbnails of each page.

The Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish Literature is a free and extensive database of references to theses, books, articles, papers and projects relating to research into Ottoman-Turkish culture.

TS Corpus: The Turkish Corpus is a Turkish general-purpose corpus containing 491 million POSTagged tokens (491,360,398 million).

Turkic Languages is an online resource for Turkic languages developed at the University of Michigan.

Türkiye Makaleler Bibliyografyası is a database of articles covering the Republican period of Turkey from 1923 to the present. Currently, over 650,000 articles from more than 4000 journals and magazines are searchable. The data entry infrastructure was redesigned and now author names and publication authorities have been added to the new system. With the new user interface, you can search by author, article, subject, and journal name.

Turkish Media provides online access to numerous Turkish Magazines and Newspapers.

The Turkology Annual was founded by Andreas Tietze (†) and György Hazai. It is a systematic bibliography for Turkology and Ottoman studies. Experts from all over the world contribute to its compilation, which is funded by several institutions including the UNESCO.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice