Skip to main content

Ottoman & Turkish studies

Welcome - Merhaba - Hoşgeldiniz ! This guide focuses on useful sources for Ottoman and Turkish studies. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Encyclopedias

Ágoston Gábor, and Bruce Alan Masters. Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire. Facts On File, 2009. Print.

Omniglot is an online Encyclopedia of writing systems and languages that includes a lengthy article about Turkish (Türkçe).

Oxford bibliography on the Ottoman Empire includes surveys of Ottoman history, reference works, collections of papers and more.

Türk Dil Kurumu El Yazması ve Nadir Eserler Veri Tabanı Kitaplığı provides online access to Ottoman manuscripts preserved in Turkey's manuscript libraries.

Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü. Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm ansiklopedisi. Üsküdar, İstanbul: Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü, 1988-1994. Electronic resource.

Türkiye Yazma Eserler Kurumu Başkanlığı is the Turkey Presidency of the Council of Manuscripts website, which provides access to selected manuscripts as ebooks, books for purchase as well as a search engine for members. The manuscripts are presented alongside transliterated Ottoman script.

Ottoman dictionaries

Babylon Ottoman Turkish Dictionary includes a downloadable glossary, a Turkish translator and a searchable dictionary.

A Dictionary for Ottoman Turkish is available on katpatuka.org, a non-profit website aiming at connecting friends of Avanos and Cappadocia.

Katib Çelebi. Kashf al-ẓunūn àn asāmï al-kutub wa-al-funūn. Dār Al-Ṭibā àh Al-Miṣrīyah, 1857. Electronic resource.

Osmanlica Turkce Sozluk is an Ottoman to Turkish Dictionary containing some 57,000 words, including on online keyboard

Sevan Nişanyan is an Etymological Dictionary of Contemporary Turkish. It contains 31,819 words under 15,211 headings. Old words that have fallen from common use in standard Turkish writing and language, along with local terms and special names are not included. The definition of words are not shown unless necessary and only historical and etymological sources are emphasized.

Turkish dictionaries

Cambridge Learner's Dictionary provides more than 20,000 definitions with examples in English and the Turkish translation.

English-Turkish, Turkish-English Dictionary is especially designed for language learners and travelers.

Şemseddin Sâmî. Kâmus-ı Türkî. İkdam Matbaası, 1899. Print.

Langtolang is a multilingual dictionary from/to almost 50 languages, including Turkish.

Lexilogos allows to search a selection of Ottoman Turkish dictionaries in both Latin and Arabic characters.

Lexiqamus is an Ottoman Word Solver.

Redhouse, James W. A Turkish and English lexicon : shewing in English the significations of the Turkish terms. Librairie Du Liban, 1974. Print.

Tureng is a multilingual dictionary that includes Turkish.

Zargan is an English-Turkish dictionary designed for Turkish speakers.

Hony, H. C, et al. The Oxford Turkish Dictionary. 3rd ed. / ed., Clarendon Press, 1984. Print.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice