Skip to Main Content
Canadian Sources
- Air carrier traffic at Canadian airports
"This publication presents statistics on airline traffic such as the volume of flights, passengers and cargo, at Canadian airports. Data on Canadian and foreign airlines' regional and local scheduled services have been added to complement the data previously published on the major scheduled services and major charter services. "
- Aviation
"This bulletin presents the most up-to-date available information extracted from all of the Aviation Statistics Centre's surveys. Regular features include releases on principal statistics for Canada's major air carriers, airport data, fare basis statistics and traffic data for Canada's most important markets."
- Canadian Motor Vehicle Traffic Collision Statistics (Transport Canada)
Provides statistics on: Alcohol Use By Drivers, Canadian Motor Vehicle Traffic Collision Statistics, Child restraint use, Preliminary Fatality Statistics, Seat belt use in Canada. Also provides links to other road safety sites in Canada and elsewhere in the world.
- Statistics Canada data and publications on transportation
Information is available on: the financial health and performance of each industry; commodity origin and destination information by mode of transport; and data on the movement of people by air, rail, bus, and urban transit.
- Rail in Canada
This on-line publication provides information relating to the size and structure of the Canadian rail transport industry. A general overview of the rail industry for a six year period is followed by a more in-depth analysis on the economic performance, financial structure and equipment use for the reference period. The publication also provides commodity origin and destination data series supplied by the Canadian Transportation Agency. Each year, one or more special studies related to the railway industry are also presented. NOTE: Discontinued in 2011; current data found in CANSIM tables 404-0004 - 404-0022
- Service Bulletin - Surface and Marine Transport
"This service bulletin presents summary information, timely financial and operatings statistics and analysis (time series, charts, special tabulations, etc.) covering bus, urban transit, courier and local messengers industry, taxi and limousine services industry and marine transportation. NOTE: This product was discontinued as of July 4, 2012. Data regarding Passenger Bus and Urban Transit continue to be available through CANSIM tables 408-0005 to 408-0012. All other surveys whose data used to be released in this publication have been discontinued.
- Shipping in Canada
This on-line publication presents a comprehensive overview of domestic and international shipping activities at Canadian ports. It provides vessel traffic data and commodity detail by points of loading and unloading; containerization, commodity movements and transport markets; key indicators on the size and structure of the Canadian water carrier industry; as well as financial and operational statistics on revenues and expenditures, services, employees, property value, fleet composition and fuel consumed. NOTE: This product has been discontinued as of November 2012
Foreign/International
- Airlines 4 America: Data & Statistics (US)
- Border crossing/entry data
"This data is collected monthly at border ports by the US Customs Service. The data only reflects vehicles, passengers or pedestrians that have entered the United States. The US Customs Service does not collect comparable data on outbound vehicles. Crossing data is available for 1997 in the following categories: trucks, trains, personal vehicles, passengers in personal vehicles and pedestrians. "
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics ( U.S.)
- Federal Aviation Administration: Data and Research (US)
Includes Accident & Incident Reports, Aviation Data & Statistics, Commercial Space Data, Passengers & Cargo, Safety
- International Transport Forum data and statistics
The International Transport Forum, part of the OECD, collects data relevant to a range of transport policy issues. It maintains historical databases and publishes analysis and indicators regarding the transport sector.
- National Transit Database (U.S.)
The NTD is the primary source for information and statistics on the transit systems of the United States. Recipients or beneficiaries of grants from the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) under the Urbanized Area Formula Program (§5307) or Other than Urbanized Area (Rural) Formula Program (§5311) are required by statute to submit data to the NTD. Over 660 transit providers in urbanized areas currently report to the NTD through the Internet-based reporting system. Each year, NTD performance data are used to apportion over $5 billion of FTA funds to transit agencies in urbanized areas (UZAs). Annual NTD reports are submitted to Congress summarizing transit service and safety data.
- North American transportation statistics
The database covers 12 specific areas of interest, including transportation and the economy, passenger and freight transportation, transportation and energy consumption, as well as transportation safety.
- OECD Transport Statistics
- Transborder freight data (U.S.)
The North American Transborder Freight Database, available since April 1993, contains freight flow data by commodity type and by mode of transportation (rail, truck, pipeline, air, vessel, and other) for U.S. exports to and imports from Canada and Mexico. The database includes two sets of tables; one is commodity based while the other provides geographic detail.It allows users to analyze movement of merchandise by all land modes, waterborne vessels, and by air carriers.
- Trends in the transport sector (OECD)
This annual statistical report from the International Transport Forum provides the reader with the first available internationally comparable figures on key transport trends. It analyses the transport situation in the western and eastern European countries, as well as the Baltic States and the CIS. The book opens with an overview of the world economy and trade as they affect transport, and then has sections providing volume data on freight transport via road, rail waterway, and pipeline and passenger transport via rail, bus, and car. In addition, it provides information on road accidents.
