Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
Unless otherwise stated, all publications in this section come from Statistics Canada.
- Canadian Foreign Post Indexes (2003-present)
These indexes are calculated to establish and adjust post living allowances paid to Canadian government employees serving outside of Canada. They are comparative measurements that numerically express the difference between the retail prices of a representative basket of goods and services at a foreign location with prices for a similar basket of goods and services in Ottawa. Four separate reports are provided to reflect the specific terms and conditions of service for these personnel:
- Foreign Service Directives Post Indexes
- Canadian International Development Agency Post Indexes
- Military Post Indexes
- Post Indexes for Non-government Organizations
- CANSIM tables on income, pensions, spending and wealth
- CANSIM tables on wages, salaries and other earnings
- Employment, Earnings and Hours (1990-2012)
"his publication presents a timely picture of employment, earnings and hours which is vital to Canada's businesses and governments for planning and decision-making purposes. The tabulations focus on monthly labour market information and historical data series. The major economic variables for over 280 industries are provided at the national and provincial/territorial level. The publication also includes a succinct monthly highlights section, and notes on the concepts and methodology of the survey." NOTE: this publication has been discontinued by Statistics Canada; the data are now available in CANSIM tables 281-0023 to 281-0049
- Family Food Expenditure Survey
This survey provides estimates of food expenditures and quantities purchased by households. Topics include: composition of households; characteristics of reference person, spouse and dwelling; food and beverages while away from home; personal income in the last 12 months; food and beverages purchased from stores by type of store; and food and beverages from restaurants by type of restaurant.
- Food expenditure in Canada (2001)
Provides detailed and summary information on food expenditure by household. Food items purchased from stores and meals bought from restaurants are presented separately. Summary food items purchased from stores include: fresh and frozen meat and poultry; fish; dairy products - milk, cheese; eggs; bakery and cereal products - bread, cookies, cakes; pasta products; breakfast cereal; fresh fruit; other prepared fruit; fresh vegetables; other prepared vegetables; condiments; sugar; coffee and tea; fats and oils; other prepared foods - soups, potato chips; and non-alcoholic beverages. Also, total food purchased from stores is shown by type of store - supermarkets, food specialty stores, convenience stores and other stores. Meals purchased from restaurants are presented as follows: breakfasts, lunches, dinners and between-meals food. Food expenditures are profiled by size and type of household and other household characteristics. Discussions of food purchasing patterns over the years, who goes grocery shopping, who eats out and who buys diary products are included. Information about household income is presented by income group and income quintile.
- Income in Canada (1998-2010)
"Income in Canada is an annual analytical report which summarizes the economic well-being of Canadians. It includes an extensive collection of income statistics, covering topics such as income distribution, income tax, government transfers, and low income back to 1976. The data prior to 1993 are drawn from the Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF). Beginning with 1998, the data are taken from the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamnics (SLID). For the 1993 to 1997 period, estimates are based on a combined sample from SCF and SLID."
This product has been discontinued; current data are available in CANSIM:
- Income Statistics and GST/HST Statistics ( Canada Customs and Revenue Agency)
- T1 Final Statistics -- Statistics based on approximately 100% of all income tax and benefit returns including reassessments for a given year.
- T1 Preliminary Statistics -- Preliminary statistics are based on approximately 95% of income tax and benefit returns excluding the reassessments for a given tax year.
- Locality code statistics -- Tax data based on geographic area.
- T2 Corporate Statistics -- Key taxation and select accounting information for all corporation tax returns that have been assessed or re-assessed.
- GST/HST Statistics -- Detailed profiles of goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) registrants.
- Final Statistics - Sample Data -- Detailed profiles of Canadian tax filers based on a stratified random sample of individual tax returns, 2001 -- 2008 tax years.
- GST/HST Incremental Federal Rebate for Municipalities -- Disclosure of the incremental value (42.86%) of the 100% GST, and the federal portion of the HST rebate approved for payment by the Minister of National Revenue to each municipal entity.
- Minimum Wage Database ( Labour Program)
Contains data for federal and provincial jurisdictions. Available in ten-year ranges (1965-1974, 1975-1984, 1985-1994, 1995-2004, 2005-2014) in addition to current and forthcoming rates for adult and young workers.
- Perspectives on labour and income ( Statistics Canada)
A monthly publication that brings together and analyzes a wide range of labour and income data. Each issue presents approximately five articles covering topics such as youth in the labour market, pensions and retirement, work arrangements, education and training, and trends in the family income, to name a few. The publication also devotes sections to new products, surveys, research projects, conferences, and selected data from a database of more than 50 up-to-date labour and income statistical indicators. Discontinued as of August 2012. Succeeded byInsights on Canadian Society
- Public Sector Salary Disclosure (Ministry of Finance, Government of Ontario)
A compendium on public sector employees in Ontario who were paid a salary of $100,000 or more, published under the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act (1996). Organizations that receive public funding from the Province of Ontario are required to disclose the names, positions, salaries and taxable benefits of these employees. Data are released in late March or early April for the previous calendar year, and go back to 1997.
- Small Area and Administrative Data
Derived from the annual taxfile provided by Revenue Canada. From the income tax forms submitted each year by Canadians, a wealth of economic and demographic information is available. Files include data on Families, Labour Income, Economic Dependency, Seniors, RRSP Contributions and Neighbourhood Income and Demographics. Geographic coverage is national, province/territory, postal area and by CMA. Microsoft Excel format files.
- Spending patterns in Canada
This publication presents statistical highlights and key tables from the Survey of Household Spending. This annual survey collects information about expenditures by households and families in Canada on a wide variety of goods and services. The publication includes analytical text, summary level tables, a detailed table, notes and definitions, and information about manipulating the data, survey methodology, and data quality. Current data available in CANSIM tables 203-0021 to 203-0028
- Survey of Consumer Finances
This is a household survey that provides data for annual estimates of income distributions by size and of low income rates for individuals and families for the previous calendar year.
- Survey of Family Expenditure (FAMEX) (1969-1996)
Provides detailed information on household expenditures includes: housing (type and value of dwelling, mortgage, additions, renovations and installations); characteristics of reference person and spouse (income by source, occupation, employment); household characteristics (members, employment insurance and social assistance indicators); food and shelter; household operation (communication, child care, household supplies); household furnishings and equipment; clothing (by age, sex of household members); transportation (public and private); health care; personal care; recreation; reading materials and other printed matter; education (tuition and supplies); tobacco products and alcoholic beverages; miscellaneous (interest payments, games of chance, taxes, insurance payments and pension contributions, money gifts and contributions); and total expenditure.
- Survey of Household Spending (SHS)
Provides detailed information on household expenditures, dwelling characteristics, and ownership of household equipment such as appliances, audio and video equipment, and vehicles.
- Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics
The Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics supports studies on the economic well-being of individuals and families and on the processes influencing this well-being. It aims to support research on topics such as: income dynamics, namely, movements into and out of poverty and the determinants of income changes experienced by individuals and families; labour market dynamics and life-cycle labour market transitions, such as school-to-work transitions; family dynamics, in particular their relation to economic well-being.
- Global Wealth Report
A products of Credit Suisse Research Institute, the Global Wealth Report offers investors a comprehensive study of world wealth - the first study to analyze the wealth of all the world's 4.4 billion adults. The aim of the Credit Suisse Global Wealth project is to provide the best available estimates of the wealth holdings of households around the world for the period since the year 2000. The Global Wealth Report highlights the main findings; the accompanying Databookunderlines the extent of the analysis, and sets out in detail the data employed, the methodology used to calculate estimates of wealth, and how this may differ from other reports in this field.
- ILOSTAT (ILO)
provides multiple datasets with annual and infra-annual labour market statistics (including earnings and employment-related income data) for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.
- Income data by topic (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Inequality data & statistics
" ... quick takes on economic inequality, as categorized in five key areas: income, wealth, global, health, and racial. In each category, we chart some inequality statistics and discuss the basic numbers."
- Living Standards Measurement Study of the World Bank -- datasets
The Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) and the Living Standards Measurement Study-Integrated Surveys on Agriculture (LSMS-ISA) were established by the Development Research Group (DECRG) to explore ways of improving the type and quality of household data collected by statistical offices in developing countries. The goal is to foster increased use of household data as a basis for policy decisionmaking.
- Occupational Wages around the World (OWW) Database
This database contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in over 150 countries from 1983 to 2003.
- Salary.com: What are you worth?
"... provides accurate, authoritative compensation data and content online, at no charge ... in-depth coverage of salary information over a comprehensive set of industries and thousands of job titles. In addition to compensation data, Salary.com also provides editorial content on compensation advice, negotiation tactics and news specific to the compensation marketplace."
- Statistics on wages, earnings and benefits (US Bureau of Labor Statistics)
- Tax statistics (US Internal Revenue Service)
- World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI covers a wide range of topics including income and expenditures.
- World Income Inequality Database
The UNU-WIDER World Income Inequality Database (WIID) collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries.