Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
Unless otherwise specified, the data sources listed here come from Citizenship and Immigration Canada
- Annual Report to Parliament on Immigration
2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007 / 2006 / 2005 / 2004
- Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics Profile Series (Statistics Canada)
- CANSIM tables (i.e., time series data) (Statistics Canada)
- Census tables (Statistics Canada)
- Citizenship and Immigration Statistics 1966-1996
Includes: annual statistics, including port of entry, class of immigrant, country of birth, age groups, country of last permanent residence (detailed), province and city of intended destination, official language, gender, year of landing, intended occupation.
- The contribution of immigration to the size and ethnocultural diversity of future cohorts of seniors
This article analyzes the impact of immigration on the size and ethnocultural composition of future cohorts of seniors in Canada, using data from the Population Estimates Program, the Population Projections Program and other sources of demographic data.
- Facts and figures: immigration overview: 1998-2011 / 2012-2013
Includes: historical immigration 1860-[latest], statistics on immigration, family class, refugees, business class, skilled workers and others, showing level, province, CMA, top 10 countries of origin, education, age and gender, marital status, language ability and intention to work. Most tables contain 2 years of historical data plus current year; most issues contain a historical table back to 1860. Note: most of these statistics are also available in CANSIM.
- Facts and figures: Immigration overview: Permanent and temporary residents
1999 / 2000 / 2001 / 2002 / 2003 / 2007 / 2008 / 2009 / 2010 / 2011 / 2013 / 2014
- Immigration maps (Toronto Star)
The maps and charts available here are based upon data, obtained from Citizenship and Immigration Canada, that covers the period 2001-2011. The data contains records of applications to immigrate to Canada, including year, country of birth and immigration category.
- Immigration Statistics in the Sessional Papers -- 1869-1882 / 1883-1894
Immigration statistics finding aid in Excel Format (.xls) listing Immigration Agent Annual Reports to Parliament published in the Sessional Papers of the Parliament of Canada. URLs to canadiana.org or Internet Archive digital copies of the reports are included.
- Immigration trends in the Greater Toronto area (Toronto Star)
Based on data from the 2006 census, these maps show the changes in diversity and immigration patterns to the GTA since before 1941..
- National Household Survey (2011) data tables on Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity (Statistics Canada)
- Permanent resident statistics (Statistics Canada)
(access restricted to Brock University, Ryerson, University of Toronto and York University IP addresses)
- Permanent residents admitted as refugees by country of last permanent residence showing province of intended destination: 1997 / 1998 / 1999 /2000 / 2001 / 2002 / 2003 / 2004
- Permanent residents admitted as protected persons by gender and age groups showing province of intended destination: Jan. 1980-Oct. 2006
- Permanent residents by age groups, gender and marital status: 1997-2003
- Permanent residents by country of birth showing age and gender: 1997 /1998 / 1999 / 2000 / 2001 / 2002 / 2003 / 2004
- Permanent residents by country of last permanent residence showing province of intended destination: 1997 [ .pdf, .xls] / 1998 / 1999 / 2000 /2001 / 2002 / 2003 / 2004
- Permanent residents by gender and age groups showing province of intended destination: 1997-2003
- Permanent residents by province and city of intended destination: 1997-2003
- Permanent residents by province and city of intended destination showing official language ability: 1997-2003
- Permanent residents by country of last permanent residence showing official language ability and gender: Jan. 1980-Oct. 2006
- Permanent residents by city of intended destination: 1980-Nov. 2005 (combined)
- Permanent residents by country of last permanent residence by class:1980-Aug. 2005
- Permanent residents by country of last permanent residence by marital status: 1980-Aug. 2005
- Persons granted Canadian citizenship by country of origin: 2000-2004
- Permanent residents by calendar year, province, education qualifications, family status and age groups: 1980-2005
- Quarterly Administrative Data Release
Provides up-to-date portraits of the immigration process, including both permanent and temporary streams, as well as an overview of the citizenship process.
- Recent Immigrants in Metropolitan Areas: A Comparative Profile Based on the 2001 Census (Statistics Canada)
Read about recent immigrants living in Canada and in selected metropolitan areas at the time of the 2001 Census of Population. A set of comparative profiles is available with information on the origin and background of immigrants, their family and household structures, economic participation, income and housing.
- Statistics Canada studies, research papers, and technical papers
- Asylum and managed migration data (Eurostat)
- Asylum: The tables presented in the Asylum domain cover the following variables: asylum applicants, persons being subject of pending asylum application, asylum applications withdrawn, first instance and final decisions on applications (grants of refugee status, subsidiary protection status and humanitarian status, rejections), resettlement.
- Residence permits: The tables presented in the residence permit domain cover the following variables: first permits granted to non-EU citizens by reasons, grants of change of immigration status or reason to stay permits, stock of all valid residence permits, and stock of long-term residents.
- Statistics on the enforcement of immigration legislation (EIL): The tables presented in the EIL domain cover: non-EU citizens refused entry at the EU external borders, apprehension of persons found to be illegally present at the territory of the EU Member State, obligations to leave the territory of the Member State, and removals of non-EU citizens whose presence was unauthorised.
- Facts and Figures: International Migrant Children and Adolescents (0-19 yrs)(United Nations)
- Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. Over one thousand census and population register records are combined to construct decennial matrices corresponding to the last five completed census rounds.
- Global Detention Project (GDP)
The Global Detention Project (GDP) is a nonprofit research centre based in Geneva, Switzerland, that investigates the use of immigration-related detention as a response to global migration. It aims to provide ... a source of accurate information and analysis about detention and other immigration control regimes, with a particular focus on the impact these policies have on the health, human rights, and well being of undocumented migrants, asylum seekers, and refugees. It also aims to develop and maintain a measurable and regularly updated database on national detention regimes that can be used to assess the evolution of detention practices and serve as a framework for comparative analysis. The statistics are embedded in the various reports and other publications available on the site.
- Immigration statistics (United States)
Includes Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, profiles on naturalized citizens, and maps of U.S. migration data.
- International Migration from Countries with Economies in Transition: 1980-1999(United Nations)
- International migration report (United Nations)
2013 / 2009 / 2006 / 2002
- International Migration Statistics (OECD)
This database contains data on foreign and immigrant populations, foreign workers, migration flows and naturalisations. It includes the following tables:
- FDI, Private Transfers and Workers Remittances
- Population and Labour Force by Duration of Stay
- Population and Labour Force by Level of Education
- Flows of Foreigners by Country of Origin
- GDP and GDP per capita
- Foreign Trade by Partner Country
- Employment by Sex and Industry Division
- Employment by Industry Division
- Naturalisations by Country of Previous Nationality
- Employment by Occupation
- Official Development Assistance by Partner Country
- Population and Labour Force by Country of Origin
- Population by Age and Sex
- Components of Total Population Growth
- Employment by Professional Status
- Stocks of Foreign Born Population by Country of Origin
- Summary Tables
- Duration of Unemployment
- Levels and Trends of International Migration to Selected Countries in Asia(United Nations)
- Migration/Geographic Mobility (U.S.)
Historical and detailed tables on Geographical Mobility, a collection of national- and regional-level tables from the Annual Social and Economic Supplement of the Current Population Survey. These detailed tables describe the movement of people in the United States, including type of move, reason for moving and selected characteristics of those who moved within the last year. The historical tables incorporate data from as far back as 1948.
- Migration integration (Eurostat)
Provides indicators have been identified in the following policy areas: employment, education, social inclusion, and active citizenship.
- Migration Policy Institute
The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. TheirData Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
- Migration & Remittances Data (World Bank)
Tables and datasets on migration, remittances, and the Migration and Remittances Factbook 2011, which provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world.
- Missing Migrants Project
Publications and infographics on migrant fatalities worldwide.
- Replacement Migration: Is It a Solution to Declining and Ageing Populations?(United Nations)
" ... the report considers replacement migration for eight low-fertility countries (France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States) and two regions (Europe and the European Union). Replacement migration refers to the international migration that a country would need to offset population decline and population ageing resulting from low fertility and mortality rates."
- United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) -- statistics and operational data
Provides data, reports, maps and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available. Indicators on the quality of refugee protection and UNHCR operations are increasingly being collected.