Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
- CANSIM tables related to 'energy'
Time-series data on coal, crude oil and natural gas, energy consumption and disposition, nuclear and electric power, petroleum products, pipelines.
- Comprehensive Energy Use Database, 1990 to 2011
provides an overview of sectoral energy markets in Canada and in each region of the country. These tables are intended to complement data published in Energy Use Data Handbook, 1990 to 2008.
- Energy Statistics Handbook
Provides current monthly, and historical annual energy data for the period 1992-2012. This is a comprehensive source of detailed information on the energy field and a useful tool for those who analyze and follow the availability, production and use of energy in Canada. Selected economic indicators (money market, gross domestic product, etc.) are included to enhance understanding of the links between macroeconomic indicators and energy statistics.
- Energy: summary tables
Tabular data on coal, crude oil and natural gas, energy consumption and disposition, nuclear and electric power, petroleum products.
- Energy Use Data Handbook, 1990 to 2012
The handbook provides a statistical overview of Canada’s sectoral energy use and GHG emissions as well as information on major activities and relevant indicators influencing energy use. It covers five sectors at an aggregate level: residential, commercial/institutional, industrial, transportation and electricity generation. Readers should consult Environment Canada’s publication Canada’s Greenhouse Gas Inventory for the official GHG inventory. The handbook covers five sectors at an aggregate level: residential, commercial/institutional, industrial, transportation and electricity generation. This handbook provides data on energy use and GHG emissions as well as information on major activities and relevant indicators influencing energy use.
- Fuel Consumption Ratings Search Tool ( Natural Resources Canada)
Locate fuel consumption ratings for specified vehicles. From 1995 to present.
- National Energy Board statistics
Data on: crude oil and petroleum products; electricity exports and imports; frontier exploration; liquid petroleum gas (LPG) underground inventories in Canada; natural gas exports & imports; natural gas liquids.
- Petroleum price data (Kent Marketing Group)
MJ Ervin & Associates conducts a weekly survey of prices for retail gasoline, diesel, propane, and furnace fuel in about 60 different Canadian cities. The survey is made available on our website at approximately 3:00 pm Eastern Time on Tuesday every week. Reports available for crude oil, motor gasoline, diesel, propane, natural gas, and furnace oil. Data are available
- on different types within each category,
- with or without taxes,
- at daily, weekly, monthly or annual frequencies, depending on the fuel type
- Energy Balances and Electricity Profiles (U.N.)
Provides energy balances for 141 countries and electricity profiles for 221 countries. The energy balances are snapshots of the annual energy flows in each country showing production, trade, transformation and consumption of energy products. They are presented in a common unit – Terajoules. The electricity profiles provide detailed information for each country on the production, trade and consumption of electricity, net installed capacity and thermal power plant input and efficiency.
- Energy Information Administration
Data on various energy sources, as well as energy-related environmental data, and related information from other countries.
- Energy statistics yearbook (U.N.)
The Energy Statistics Yearbook is a series of annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trends. Annual data for 224 countries and areas are presented on production, trade and consumption of energy for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat. Per capita consumption series are also provided for all energy products. Special tables of interest include: international trade tables for coal, crude petroleum and natural gas by partner countries; selected series of statistics on renewables and wastes; refinery distillation capacity; and a table on selected energy resources.
- International Energy Agency
"The Energy Statistics Division (ESD) of the IEA collects, processes and publishes data and information on energy production, trade, stocks, transformation, consumption, prices and taxes as well as on greenhouse gas emissions. The geographical coverage of the IEA's statistics includes the 30 OECD Member countries and over 100 non-OECD countries world-wide."
- Retail Gasoline Prices, Regular Grade (U.S.)
- World crude oil price index
Crude Oil (petroleum) price index, 2005 = 100, simple average of three spot prices; Dated Brent, West Texas Intermediate, and the Dubai Fateh. Actual monthly price data (along with prices for coal, natural gas, and non-fuel commodities)) are part of this commodity price spreadsheet from the IMF.
- World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI covers a wide range of topics, including energy production and use.