Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
Unless stated otherwise, the following publications come from Statistics Canada.
- Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal (McGill U)
Provides access to up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies. The Portal is designed to provide ... a single point of access to Canadian child welfare research, i.e. research on abused and neglected children and on the programs and policies developed to support and protect these children and to support their families. The Portal includes a searchable data base of Canadian research publications, a data base of Canadian researchers, and information and statistics about provincial, territorial, aboriginal and national child welfare policies, legislation and programs.
- CANSIM tables on children and youth
- Children and youth
Information on Canada's infants, children, teens, adolescents, students, and young adults. Topics include child care arrangements, crime, education, health, immigration, labour, low income, risk behaviours and violence.
- Children and Youth Research Paper Series
Studies, research papers, technical papers written by Statistics Canada staff on related topics
- Children & youth section of Canada Year Book
- Fifty years of families in Canada: 1961 to 2011
- General Social Survey
Only cycles with content related to families are listed here; the others are on the main GSS page:
This publication provides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of justice-related topics and issues.
- Assaults against children and youth in the family, 1996
- Child luring through the Internet
- Child and spousal support in metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas, 2009/2010
- Children and youth as victims of violent crime
- Family court cases involving child custody, access and support arrangements, 2009/2010
- Family violence in Canada: A statistical profile
- Interjurisdictional cases of spousal and child support, 2010/2011
- Missing and abducted children
- Parenting after separation and divorce: a profile of agreements and arrangements for spending time with and making decisions for children
- Payment patterns of child and spousal support
- Pilot analysis of recidivism among convicted youth and young adults, 1999/2000
- Profile of child-related family law cases in civil court, 2011/2012
- Profile of child support beneficiaries
- Youth court statistics in Canada
- Youth Crime in Canada, 2006
- Youth custody and community services in Canada
- Youth Self-Reported Delinquency, Toronto, 2006
- National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth
The National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth (NLSCY) is a long-term survey designed to measure child development and well-being. The first cycle of the survey was conducted by Statistics Canada in 1994-1995 on behalf of Human Resources Development Canada. The survey looked at households containing children 0 11 years of age. It will follow these children over time, collecting information on the children and their families, education, health, development, behaviour, friends, activities, etc.
- Public-use microdata file via <odesi>
- Statistical Snapshot of Youth at Risk and Youth Offending in Canada (Public Safety Canada)
- Teenage pregnancy
Find the latest information on teenage pregnancy from Statistics Canada, including tables and articles.
- What has changed for young people in Canada?
In recent years, there has been much discussion and a great deal written about the economic and social well-being of young people. This article paints their socioeconomic portrait and looks at where they are in the labour market in terms of unemployment and certain work conditions.
- Child Trends DataBank (U.S.)
Examines and monitors more than 100 indicators that focus on risks and positive developments for children. For each indicator [they] summarize what the research says about its importance to children’s development, track trends over time and by subgroup, and highlight strategies likely to improve well-being. [They] also provide links to state, local, and international data. [Their] estimates come from reliable sources including federal reports and websites.
- Childinfo - monitoring the situation of children and women (UNICEF)
Contains UNICEF’s statistical information, including data used in UNICEF’s flagship publications, The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children.
- Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (U.S.)
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time. In addition to providing data in an easy-to-use, non-technical format, the purpose of the report is to stimulate discussions among policymakers and the public, exchanges between data providers and policy communities, and improvements in Federal data on children and families.
- Information by country and programme (UNICEF)
Statistics and general information about UNICEF programs in various countries and regions