Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
Consumer and property services
Performance and ownership
- Building permits (1997-present)
"This monthly publication provides information about the building construction sectors. In addition to data on the number and value of building permits issued by Canadian municipalities, this publication provides information on the average value of dwellings, the number and value of mobile homes, and permits issued for building renovation. Data are presented at national and provincial levels as well as for census metropolitan areas, large urban centres and economic regions. With the use of graphs, summary tables and a short analysis, the publication describes current activity and trends in the residential and non-residential building construction sectors."
- Canadian business patterns (Statistics Canada)
Includes: tables at the 1,2,3 and 4-digit Standard Industrial Clasification 1980 levels; tables at the 2,3,4 and 6-digit North American Industrial Classification System (as of December 1998); eight employment size categories, including "indeterminate" (as of December 1998); and data produced on a semi-annual basis beginning with June 1990 for provincial, national data, December 1990 for census metropolitan areas data and December 1996 for census agglomeration, census division and census sub-division areas data. Data for 2013 onwards is at the provincial level only.
- Canadian industry statistics (Industry Canada)
" ... presents and analyses industry data on the number of establishments, gross domestic product and labour productivity for industry sectors belonging to the Canadian Economy using a few of the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada. Sectors are defined in accordance with the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 1997. Additional analyses of sub-sectors, industry groups, industries and national industries belonging to the Manufacturing sector are offered. These additional topics include employment, salaries and wages, manufacturing production, manufacturing costs, performance, capital investment and international merchandise trade. "
- Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database (1988-present)
Offers detailed export and import trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level). Select a trading partner and specific variables (e.g., country, province, state, year, month, or frequency) or search by commodity or Harmonized System code.
- Canadian statistics: International trade (Statistics Canada)
Free tabular data on
- Imports, exports and trade balance of goods on a balance-of-payments basis, by country or country grouping
- Exports of goods on a balance-of-payments basis, by product
- Imports of goods on a balance-of-payments basis, by product
- Corporations Returns Act (2001-present)
Each year, Statistics Canada produces a report on foreign control, as stipulated in the Corporations Returns Act. This report draws a national profile of foreign control in the Canadian corporate economy, examining financial and ownership information on corporations conducting business in Canada. This information is used to evaluate the extent and effect of non-resident control of the Canadian corporate economy. The report includes charts and tables providing time series on selected financial characteristics (assets, operating revenue and operating profits) by country of control and classified by major industry groups. The statistics provided in the Corporations Returns Act report are presented at the 21-industry level, using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS Canada 2007). Previous versions of this report may use different Industry Classification Systems. The industry system used will be referenced within the specific version.
Related CANSIM tables
- Entrepreneurship indicators of Canadian enterprises
The program on entrepreneurship indicators provides data on the dynamics of a subset of Canadian enterprises, such as the number of high-growth enterprises; births and deaths of enterprises; enterprises survival; and jobs linked to these indicators.
- Environmental protection expenditures in the business sector ( PDF)
Operating and capital expenditures made by primary and manufacturing industries in response to, or in anticipation of, environmental regulations and conventions.
- Financial ratios for Canadian business by industry
Available from three sources:
- Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises: CANSIM table 180-0003
- Quarterly Survey of Financial Statements: CANSIM tables 187-0001 and187-0002
- Industry Canada's Financial Performance Data -- financial data by industry for small businesses in Canada
- FP markets, Canadian demographics
Contains selected current census statistics, incl. population, households, personal income, household income, labour force, occupation, housing, marital status, retail sales, daytime population, average household expenditures, radio and TV station data.
Location: HC111 A5 S9x 85th ed. (2012) , Humanities and Social Sciences, Reference (McLennan Building, Main Floor).
- Gross domestic product by industry (Statistics Canada)
Contains monthly, quarterly, and annual estimates of gross domestic product for over 300 industries, including aggregates and special industry groupings. Estimates are seasonally adjusted, in millions of dollars at 1992 prices, for the current year and the previous year.
- Industry classifications
Includes the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) for Canada and the US, Sistema de Clasificación Industrial de América del Norte (SCIAN), Statistical classification of economic activities in the European Community (NACE), International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC), and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).
- Industry price indexes (Statistics Canada)
"This publication provides monthly and annual indexes of industry selling-prices for manufacturing industries, with commodity detail; purchase price indexes of raw materials; and non-residential electric power selling-price indexes. Explanations of the methods used and additional sources are included."
- SEDAR ( System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to financial information on publicly listed companies. Developed by Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) and the Canadian Depository for Securities (CDS). The Canadian equivalent of the EDGAR database in the U.S.
- SME Benchmarking Tool (Industry Canada)
SME Benchmarking Tool (formerly Performance Plus) offers industry-specific income statement and balance sheet data for small and medium sized businesses. SME Benchmarking Tool allows you to:
- Estimate the operating costs for your new business;
- View financial performance averages in your industry;
- Enter your own financial data to see how your business measures up to comparably sized firms.
- Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy
Provide statistical information on the strategic decisions, innovation activities and operational tactics used by Canadian enterprises. The survey also collects information on the involvement of enterprises in global value chains.
- Trade data online ( Industry Canada)
Contains: Canadian and US industry and commodity trade data using SIC codes and the internationally comparable 6-digit Harmonized System respectively.