Skip to main content

Pharmacology and therapeutics: Natural products

Databases and other online resources

AMED : allied and complementary medicine -- A bibliographic database that covers more than 510 journals in complementary, or "alternative," medicine. Specific topics included are: physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.

Dietary supplements labels database -- A joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Herbs, Botanicals and Other Products -- Resource of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Medicine Service.

Herbs at a glance -- A series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

HerbMed -- An impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation,

Lexicomp -- Includes The Natural Product database, which is adapted from The Review of Natural Products, a Facts & Comparisons online database. Each monograph includes a Clinical Overview section and then additional in-depth fields that provide a detailed discussion of the use, dosing, adverse reactions, and interactions of each herbal product.

Licensed Natural Health Products Database -- Contains information about natural health products (dietary supplements, herbal medicines, traditional medicines, homeopathic remedies, etc.) that have been issued a product license by Health Canada.

Natural Health Products Ingredients Database -- This is a portion of the Natural Health Products Ingredients Database, maintained by Health Canada that cover single ingredients commonly used in herbal preparations; single ingredients includes chemical compounds and plants.

Other resources

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice