Guides: Teaching English as a Second Language: Find Articles

Selected Journals

The Canadian modern language review = La revue canadienne des langues vivantes
ELT Journal
English Teaching Forum
English Today
Internet TESL Journal
The Language Teacher - access to partial archives available freely online
TESL Canada journal = Revue TESL du Canada
TESOL Quarterly

Core Databases

ERIC is a key database for education, with journal articles and other education-related material such as books and reports. It is available in three interfaces (the content is identical).

ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Coverage: 1966 - current.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (USDE)
Education Database Education Database covers the literature on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics. -Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
- This link opens in a new window
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, it features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and dissertations. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes) Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
- This link opens in a new window

Legend

Tips for using Google Scholar

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

1. Click on Settings

2. Click on Library Links

3. Search for McGill

4. Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”

5. Click on Save

To connect Google Scholar to EndNote:

1. Click on Settings

2. Scroll down

3. Under Bibliography Manager choose "EndNote" from the drop down menu

4. Click on Save