Skip to main content
Selected Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
International Encyclopedia of Education
Publication Date: 2009-04-17
Detailed overviews of important concepts and areas of research in the field of education. A great place to start your research!
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects include Education, Linguistics, Clinical and Applied Psychology, Cognitive Psychology and Cognitive Science, Gender Studies, and more. It comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references, as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
A Dictionary of Education
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Included in Oxford Reference Online, which contains thousands of reference materials.
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Education
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Education is intended to serve as a general introduction to key issues in the field, to further the philosophical pursuit of those issues, and to bring philosophy of education back into closer contact with general philosophy. Distinguished philosophers and philosophers of education, most of whom have made important contributions to core areas of philosophy, turn their attention in these 28 essays to a broad range of philosophical questions concerning education.
The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation
Publication Date: 2012-02-16
The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation includes theoretical overviews from some of the best-known thinkers in this area, including chapters on Social Learning Theory, Control Theory, Self-determination theory, Terror Management theory, and the Promotion and Prevention perspective. Topical chapters appear on phenomena such as ego-depletion, flow, curiosity, implicit motives, and personal interests.
The Oxford Handbook of Lifelong Learning
Publication Date: 2011-03-11
The Oxford Handbook of Lifelong Learning is a comprehensive and interdisciplinary examination of the theory and practice of lifelong learning, encompassing perspectives from human resources development, adult learning, psychology, career and vocational learning, management and executive development, cultural anthropology, the humanities, and gerontology.
The Oxford Handbook of Poverty and Child Development
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
The Oxford Handbook of Poverty and Child Development provides a comprehensive analysis of the mechanisms through which socioeconomic, cultural, familial, and community-level factors impact the early and long-term cognitive, neurobiological, socio-emotional, and physical development of children living in poverty.
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education Volume 1
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Pairing practical information with detailed analyses of what works, why, and for whom-all while banishing the paternalism that once dogged the field-this first of two volumes features specially-commissioned, updated essays on topics including: language and language development, hearing and speech perception, education, literacy, cognition, and the complex cultural, social, and psychological issues associated with deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals.
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education Volume 2
Publication Date: 2010-06-28
This second volume of the The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education (2003) picks up where that first landmark volume left off, describing those advances and offering readers the opportunity to understand the current status of research in the field while recognizing the opportunities and challenges that lie ahead. In Volume 2, an international group of contributing experts provide state-of-the-art summaries intended for students, practitioners, and researchers.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
In The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education, editor Colleen Conway and the contributing music educators provide that clarification, as well as models of qualitative studies within various music education disciplines. The handbook outlines the history of qualitative research in American music education and explores the contemporary use of qualitative approaches in examining issues related to music teaching and learning.