Sources for Background Information
Guides and Handbooks
- Contemporary World Architecture
NA680 P32 1998 (Ref)
- Private Architecture: Masterpieces of the Twentieth Century has some striking images of private dwellings representative of the 20th Century's eclectic architectural styles.
NA7125 S382 1998
- Twentieth Century Architecture: A Visual History
NA 680 S52 2002 (Ref)
Encyclopaedias, Dictionaries, Glossaries
- Dictionary of Art - Oxford Art Online
(includes Grove Art Online)
- Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
NA680 E495 2004 (Ref)
- Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
NA31 H37313 1986 (Schoenauer Collection)
- Dictionnaire de l'architecture du XXe siècle
NA40 D53 1996 (Ref)
- The Metapolis Dictionary of Advanced Architecture: City, Technology and Society in the Information Age
NA680 M48 2003
- The Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of 20th century architecture
NA31 H37213 1986 (Ref)
and in e-book format from Xreferplus (text only; no images)
Atlases
- The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
folio NA687 P43 2004 (Ref) See Atlas Stand
Searching the Catalogue: Helpful Tips
To search an exact phrase...use Quotes
"Frank Lloyd Wright"
To narrow your search...use AND
architecture and contemporary
To exclude certain words from your search...use NOT
(planning and architecture) not urban
To use various terms for the same concept...use OR
(contemporary or modern) and architects
To search the root of a word...use ?
archite? will retrieve
architect
architects
architecture
architectural
architettura
Search the Library Catalogue
Core and Additional Databases
- ARTstor (image database)
online via McGill Library
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Print & online via McGill Library
- British Humanities Index
online via McGill Library
- RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online (formerly API)
Z5941 A7x (Index Stand) & online via McGill Library
- Web of Science (ISI)
online via McGill Library
- World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations
NA202 T4 1991 (Ref)
Selected Internet Sites
- The Architecture Foundation. The Foundation is UK's leading independent architecture centre involved in promoting and encouraging the best in contemporary architecture through projects and events involving internationally renown architects and influential people.
Other Resources
Bibliographies
- Modern Architecture of the 20th Century
Z5941.5 V36 1983 (Ref)
