Skip to main content

Art History: Researching an artist

Locate biographical information and exhibition history

General Biographical Dictionaries

  • Artists in Canada/Artistes au Canada (National Gallery of Canada Documentation Collection)
    Bilingual union list of documentation files and biographical information on more than 52,000 Canadian artists, held by 23 libraries and art galleries across the country. Find a copy in the library [online currently unavailable]
  • Artists of the World Online / Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon
    Access online
  • Biographical dictionary of Saskatchewan artists Find a copy in the library

  • Canadian Women Artists History Initiative: A bio-bibliographic database of Canadian women artists born before 1925. Access online.

  • Contemporary Canadian artists Find a copy in the library

  • Dictionary of Artists (Benezit) Find a copy in the library
  • Dictionary of Artists' Models Find a copy in the library 
  • Early painters and engravers in Canada Find a copy in the library
  • Index to Art in Canada / Index to National Gallery of Canada Exhibition Catalogues, 1880-1930
    Index by artist to works of art exhibited at the National Gallery and other Canadian galleries and recorded in contemporary exhibition and auction catalogues. Access online

Dictionaries by geographic regions

North America

Asia

United Kingdom

The dictionary of British women artists Find a copy in the library

Dictionary of women artists Find a copy in the library

Dictionary of women artists : an international dictionary of women artists born before 1900 Find a copy in the library

North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary Find a copy in the library

The Society of Women Artists exhibitors, 1855-1996 : a dictionary of artists and their works Find a copy in the library

 

Loading

Librarian

David Greene's picture
David Greene
Contact:
Humanities & Social Sciences Library
514-398-5925

Office Hours

Winter 2016: 

Librarian Dave Greene is offering office hours for Art History on Mondays, 10:30am-noon in Arts-W 110 (Professor Straw's office).

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice