Skip to main content
- Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS). Information system intended to map out the location of Aboriginal communities and display information pertaining to their potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.
- Anthropology Plus The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Banque documentaire Autochtonia Documents relating to aboriginals in Quebec.
- Early Canadiana Online Canada's documentary record in full text
- Early Encounters in North America: peoples, cultures and the environment Online database that contains over 1,480 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between peoples, cultures and the environment in North America.
- First Nations Periodical Index Journals of mainly Canadian Native content.
- First Nations Digital Document Source A collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues.
- Indigenous Peoples' Center for Documentation, Research and Information Includes online documentation, periodicals database, and Indigenous thesaurus of Human Rights terms, a monographic collection.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Repository of academic papers, working papers and draft papers in the social sciences contains many recent unpublished papers related to Aboriginal law
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians An authoritative reference guide to Native American history, culture, and life contains contributions by more than 260 experts.
- Halsbury's Laws of Canada. Aboriginal Law.
- JurisClasseur Québec. Droit constitutionnel - Fascicule 15 : Peuples autochtones et droit constitutionnel.
- Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty Comprehensive introduction to the treaties that promised land, self-government, financial assistance, and cultural protections to many of the tribes of North America, including Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada. Explores the historical, political, legal, and geographical contexts in which each treaty took shape.
Archives, bibliographies & other resources:
- Aboriginal Heritage Aboriginal documentary heritage found in the holdings of Library and Archives Canada
- Bibliography of Native North Americans Indexes works published from the 16th century to the present concerning native North American topics and issues.
- Federal and Provincial Collections of Minutes of Decision, Correspondance and Sketches Materials produced by the Joint Indian Reserve Commission (1876 to 1878) and the Indian Reserve Commission (1878 to 1910).
- Indigenous Law Portal Library of Congress.
- Indigenous Rights and Governance in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand (Oxford Bibliographies)
- Library and Archives Canada. Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) Searchable database of select RCAP records. The database contains transcripts of more than 175 days of hearings; nearly 200 research reports; more than 100 submissions from tribal councils, organizations and interest groups, as well as RCAP publications and the final report."
- National Archives. American Indians and Alaska Natives Information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s.
- Our Legacy Material relating to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, found in Saskatchewan cultural and heritage collections.
- A Select and Annotated Bibliography regarding Bill C-31, Indian registration and band membership Prepared by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada, annotated bibliography of monographs, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. focusing on Aboriginal women.
- McGill users only
- Open access resource
- Free resource
- In-library-use only
- Catalogue record