Skip to main content

Food Science & Agricultural Chemistry

Resources for Food Science students and researchers

Dictionaries

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology

This classic book provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology, nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.


Dictionary of Food Ingredients

An easy-to-use resource covering over 1,000 food ingredients and additives, including natural ingredients, FDA-approved artificial ingredients and compounds used in food processing.


Dictionary of Food Science and Technology

This rigorously edited and cross-referenced dictionary contains over 7800 entries, including local names, synonyms and Latin names as appropriate, reflecting current usage in the scientific literature.


Dictionnaire agro-alimentaire: anglais-français, français-anglais/Dictionary of food science and industry: English-French, French-English

Bilingual dictionary of food science and technology terms.


Glossary of Biotechnology and Agrobiotechnology Terms

Comprehensive, easy to understand dictionary of terms relating to biotechnology, agricultural chemistry and technology, and food technology.


Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Provides a comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. The entries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics.


Pocket Dictionary of Food Safety

Covers areas such as food microbiology, food chemistry, food quality assurance, food borne incidents, food regulations, and standards. It classifies and organizes food safety terms and definitions in alphabetical listing.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering

Examines the processes used to convert raw materials info safe, convenient, and nutritious foods as well as the many other consumer products manufactured from raw agricultural materials.


Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems

This work covers the breadth of issues that define modern agriculture and food systems. Many of the topics discussed are those widely defined as traditional agriculture, i.e. crops, animals, their production systems and protection from pests and diseases.


Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology

Covers fundamental concepts and practical requirements in food science, as well as cutting-edge technological and industry information.

Handbooks & Manuals

Food Analysis

Provides information on techniques needed to analyze foods for chemical and physical properties. General information chapters on regulations, labeling, sampling, and data handling provide background information for chapters on specific methods to determine chemical composition and characteristics, physical properties, and objectionable matter and constituents. Methods of analysis covered include information on the basic principles, advantages, limitations, and applications. Sections on spectroscopy and chromatography along with chapters on techniques such as immunoassays, thermal analysis, and microscopy from the perspective of their use in food analysis have been expanded.

Food Analysis Laboratory Manual

Companion to Food Analysis. Laboratory exercises have multiple sections to cover several methods of analysis for a particular food component or characteristic. Most  include the following: background, reading assignment, objective, principle of method, chemicals, reagents, precautions and waste disposal, supplies, equipment, procedure, data and calculations, questions, and references.

Handbook of Food Analysis Instruments

Because the presence and interactions of various compounds in foods during storage and processing impact all aspects of quality, applying proper methods for the analysis of foods is a critical endeavour. This work focuses on the origin, concept, and use of these instruments.

Handbook of Food Analytical Chemistry

Provides detailed reports on experimental procedures, includes sections on background theory and troubleshooting, emphasizes effective, state-of-the art methodology, written by recognized experts in the field. Includes detailed instructions with annotated advisory comments, key references with annotation, time considerations and anticipated results.

Handbook of Food Engineering

Offers information for the efficient design and development of processes used in the manufacturing of food products, along with traditional background and fundamental information. This book focuses on the thermophysical properties of food and the rate constants of change in food components during processing.

Handbook of Residue Analytical Methods for Agrochemicals

This two-volume handbook uniquely brings together information on the key methodologies used in the analysis of agrochemical residues and current best practices, while also giving numerous examples of how these methodologies are applied in practice to a wide range of both individual compounds, and classes of agrochemical compounds.

Methods in Agricultural Chemical Analysis: A Practical Handbook

Contains information on the most suitable procedures for the analysis of agricultural materials. It describes the analysis of soils and composts, plant materials, feeds, plant components (e.g. cellulose, lignin, trace elements), fertilizers, and biological substances. The book is designed as a laboratory sourcebook, complete with useful Internet addresses, and contains over 60 different practical methods. Each method is described by a step-by-step approach, and contains details of apparatus required, chemical reaction equations, formulae and calculations, and meticulous descriptions of experimental results.

Key Texts

The Chemistry of Food

An essential reference on detailed information about the changes and reactions that occur during food processing and storage and possibilities how to manage them.


Concise Physical Chemistry

Comprised of 21 chapters, the book addresses ideal gas laws, real gases, the thermodynamics of simple systems, thermochemistry, entropy and the second law, the Gibbs free energy, equilibrium, statistical approaches to thermodynamics, the phase rule, chemical kinetics, liquids and solids, solution chemistry, conductivity, electrochemical cells, atomic theory, wave mechanics of simple systems, molecular orbital theory, experimental determination of molecular structure, and photochemistry and the theory of chemical kinetics.


Food Microbiology: An Introduction

This textbook covers the complex field of food microbiology while also motivating students to venture beyond memorization to a broader understanding of the concepts.


Organic Chemistry

Essential textbook for the study of organic chemistry, featuring many examples and with abundant connections between the text and real world applications.


Principles of Food Chemistry

Textbook focusing on the chemical and physical properties of major food components including water, carbohydrates, proteins, lipids, minerals vitamins and enzymes. Chapters also discuss colour, flavor and texture, contaminants and additives, beer and wine production, herbs and spices, and GMO. Provides an understanding of the chemistry associated with these areas. Each chapter contains new tables and illustrations, and an extensive bibliography, providing readers with ready access to relevant literature and links to the internet where appropriate.

Librarian

Dana Ingalls's picture
Dana Ingalls
Contact:
Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building
21111 Lakeshore Rd.
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC
H9X 3V9
(514) 398-7576

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice