Skip to main content

Dietetics and Human Nutrition

Resources for Dietetics & Human Nutrition Students and researchers

Key Texts

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease

An authoritative work on nutrition and its role in contemporary medicine, dietetics, nursing, public health, and public policy, providing in-depth information on historical landmarks in nutrition, specific dietary components, nutrition in integrated biologic systems, nutritional assessment through the life cycle, nutrition in various clinical disorders, and public health and policy issues. Available in ebook format and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Nutrition: Concepts and Controversies

A guide to the science of nutrition with applications for daily life.


Nutrition, Health and Disease: A Lifespan Approach

Bringing together key topics in basic science, clinical nutrition, and public health, this textbook covers how the need for nutrients changes throughout life, and thus the variety of ways in which nutrition and diet affect health and disease. Includes content on vegetarian, vegan, kosher and other alternative diets, gender and nutrition, macro- and micronutrients, background on nutritional epidemiology and statistics, and more. Available in ebook format.


The Science of Nutrition

Focusing on an applied approach to learning about macro and micronutrients, this textbook presents them based on their functions, emphasizing their effect on the body.


Understanding Nutrition

An introductory textbook comprised of twenty chapters on topics such as diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, diet and health, and fitness. 1st-12th and 14th editions available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.

Dictionaries

The A-Z Guide to Food as Medicine

A dictionary-style reference intended for use by health care professionals to quickly and easily access information about the bioactive components in the foods and how diet can be manipulated for health benefits, exploring the scientific findings about physiological effects of over 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals. Available as an ebook and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology

This classic book provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology, nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data. The 8th edition is available as an ebook; the 7th edition is available as an ebook and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Dictionary of Food Science and Nutrition

Over 6,000 terms relating to food science, covering topics such as nutrient types, diets, food chemistry, digestion, metabolism, food labelling, dietary reference values, storage and hygiene of food, catering, kitchen equipment and eating for health. Available as an ebook and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods

A concise and comprehensive dictionary of 480 functional foods and nutraceuticals. Available in ebook format.


Dictionary of Nutrition and Dietetics

A dictionary that covers all aspects of nutrition from medical terms to basic foods to such diverse dietetic practice areas as research, communications and private practice. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Dictionnaire de nutrition et diététique

A French language dictionary comprising more than 1000 entries on nutritional terminology and guidelines. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise

An authoritative dictionary covering dietary and calorie requirements, physiology, diets, and the interaction of nutrition and sport. Available in ebook format.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Food and Health

A 7-volume encyclopedia covering all areas of food science, health, and nutrition. Available in ebook format.


Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition

From the Mayo Clinic, he definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health, as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. Available in ebook format and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition

A comprehensive encyclopedia providing entries covering all aspects of nutrition, and appendices with charts of nutritional content of foods, caloric and dietary allowances, and other topics. Available in ebook format.


The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets

Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly. Available in ebook format.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels

This guide provides a unique source of information on food, nutrition, food labels, and associated legislation, organizations, and diseases and conditions. Coverage includes various topics related to nutrition and food labels.

Handbooks and Manuals

Diet and Nutrition in Critical Care

This major reference work covers the latest treatments and procedures to meet the dietary and nutritional needs of the critically ill. It examines all manner of conditions that may arise in the critical or intensive care setting.


Dietitian's Pocket Guide to Nutrition

A portable, concise handbook for dietitians, providing quick access to information about dietary needs and nutritional assessment of patients. Available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Handbook of Nutrition and Food

A comprehensive handbook covering food composition, nutrient and food analysis, nutritional care of various populations, and and nutritional assessment. 1st, 2nd, and 3rd editions available in ebook format; 1st and 2nd editions available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics

A quick-reference manual providing practical, state-of-the-art, evidence-based nutrition recommendations for healthy adults, hospitalized patients, and people with a full range of health conditions. 5th and 6th editions available in ebook format; 1st, 3rd, 4th, and 5th editions available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics

A quick reference guide for the practice of Dietetics. Including nutritional values and dietary reference intakes, nutritional care for specific population groups and individuals with a range of medical conditions, drug-nutrient interactions and more. Available in ebook format and in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.


Pediatric Nutrition Handbook

Covering how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence, this manual reflects the policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Nutrition.


Pocket Guide to Nutritional Assessment and Care

A comprehensive guide to nutritional assessment for clinical practitioners. Including dietary reference intakes, dietary sources of nutrients, drug-nutrient interactions, and more. 5th and 6th editions available in print at the Macdonald Campus Library.

Librarian

Dana Ingalls's picture
Dana Ingalls
Contact:
Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building
21111 Lakeshore Rd.
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC
H9X 3V9
(514) 398-7576

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice