Skip to main content

Educational and counselling psychology: Home

Resources

Sources for Background Information

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tests

Core and Additional Databases

Core databases

ERIC is a key database for education, with journal articles and other education-related material such as books and reports. It is available in three interfaces (the content is identical):

Additional Databases

  • Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews
    Includes protocols and abstracts of peer-reviewed sources of evidence of the effectiveness of social and behavioural interventions in education, criminal justice and social welfare
  • MEDLINE
    (Ovid, 1966-) widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
  • Annual Review of Psychology
    critically reviews significant primary research literature in the field
  • Scopus
    multidisciplinary citation index of journal articles in science, social science, and humanities
  • ScienceDirect: Psychology Subject Area
  • Wiley InterScience: Psychology
  • ProQuest Research Library
    multidisciplinary database that covers magazine and news articles as well as scholarly articles and books
  • Web of Science
    multidisciplinary database and important resource for citation searching
  • Health & Psychosocial Instruments
    (OvidSP) comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Indexes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, and language research
  • Autism Data
    Free database that lists
    over 24,000 research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials related to autism spectrum disorders

Selected Websites

Accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

Other Resources

Related subject guides

Citation Guides

 

Education Liaison Librarian

Emily Kingsland's picture
Emily Kingsland
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-4782

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice