Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology: Find Articles

Research guide to sources in Anthropology and Archaeology

To search for articles, use a database

Yavapai College Library

Different kinds of databases

A database is essentially a collection of information. Many library databases are simply collections of journals and other scholarly materials. So, when we talk about databases, we're talking about places you can go to search for academic articles!

Databases can be subject-specific. This means the material found in the database is geared toward a limited range of disciplines. Anthropology Plus is a database that indexes primarily journals from the field of Anthropology and Archaeology. You wouldn't bother checking that database if you were doing a project on diabetes treatment.

Databases can also be multidisciplinary. This means that the material found in the database is wide-ranging, and may cover an extremely broad range of topics. Web of Science is one example, but there are others. You could certainly find information on diabetes treatment in Web of Science, but you could also find information on cartooning, for example (or anthropology and archaeology!).

New to online research? Check out these helpful videos!

Start searching for articles

These databases can be used to search for information on a wide variety of topics. They are great starting points for research, especially if your topic crosses into different disciplines and is a little hard to pin down.

  • Google Scholar
    A simple and powerful way to search scholarly literature across disciplines and sources; includes citation counts.
Loading

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice